1995 PGA Championship: Elk Sighting

The 1995 PGA Championship was the 77th time the tournament was played, and this one went to a playoff. Steve Elkington emerged from that playoff with his only major championship victory.

Winner: Steve Elkington, 267

Where it was played: Riviera Country Club in Los Angeles, California

Tournament dates: August 10-13, 1995

Leader after first round: Michael Bradley, 63

Leader after second round: Ernie Els and Mark O'Meara, 131

Leader after third round: Ernie Els, 197

What Happened at the 1995 PGA Championship

Ernie Els shared or held the lead at the 1995 PGA Championship after 36 holes and after 54. Following the third round, Els was in front by three strokes over Jeff Maggert. But neither Maggert nor Els figured in the final reckoning; Maggert played well with a 2-under 69, while Els posted a pedestrian 1-over 72. Both were overtaken by Steve Elkington and Colin Montgomerie.

Elkington started the final round six strokes behind Els, while Monty was five back. But Elkington shot a blistering 64. Then Montgomerie made a long birdie putt on the 72nd green to shoot 65 and tie Elkington's 17-under 267 total.

On the first playoff hole, Elkington rolled in a 25-foot putt for birdie, then Monty missed a 20-footer. Steve Elkington was the 1995 PGA Championship winner. Els and Maggert tied for third.

Elkington's comeback from six behind was the second-best final-round comeback in tournament history to this point. Elkington and Montgomerie set a new tournament scoring record (later bettered) at 267, and tied what was then the lowest stroke total in any major (since bettered).

The victory was Elkington's sixth on the PGA Tour, and his first major. It remained his only major, although he did also win twice at the prestigious Players Championship. Montgomerie went on to a Hall of Fame career, but never won a major. He did set a record for most times finishing second in a major without winning, with five. His runner-up in the 1995 PGA was the second of those five.

Fifth-place finisher Brad Faxon tied the tournament (and then-major championship) 18-hole record with a 63 in the final round. That score included a 28 on the front nine, which set a 9-hole scoring record in the PGA Championship.

Jack Nicklaus finished tied for 67th here; it was the last time Nicklaus made the cut in a PGA Championship.

1995 PGA Championship Final Scores

Steve Elkington 68-67-68-64—267
Colin Montgomerie 68-67-67-65—267
Ernie Els 66-65-66-72—269
Jeff Maggert 66-69-65-69—269
Brad Faxon 70-67-71-63—271
Bob Estes 69-68-68-68—273
Mark O'Meara 64-67-69-73—273
Jay Haas 69-71-64-70—274
Justin Leonard 68-66-70-70—274
Steve Lowery 69-68-68-69—274
Jeff Sluman 69-67-68-69—274
Craig Stadler 71-66-66-71—274
Jim Furyk 68-70-69-68—275
Miguel Angel Jimenez 69-69-67-70—275
Payne Stewart 69-70-69-67—275
Kirk Triplett 71-69-68-67—275
Mike Campbell 71-65-71-69—276
Costantino Rocca 70-69-68-69—276
Curtis Strange 72-68-68-68—276
Greg Norman 66-69-70-72—277
Jesper Parnevik 69-69-70-69—277
Duffy Waldorf 69-69-67-72—277
Woody Austin 70-70-70-68—278
Nolan Henke 68-73-67-70—278
Peter Jacobsen 69-67-71-71—278
Lee Janzen 66-70-72-70—278
Bruce Lietzke 73-68-67-70—278
Billy Mayfair 68-68-72-70—278
Steve Stricker 75-64-69-70—278
Sam Torrance 69-69-69-71—278
Paul Azinger 70-70-72-67—279
Mark Brooks 67-74-69-69—279
Fred Couples 70-69-74-66—279
Nick Faldo 69-73-70-67—279
Gil Morgan 66-73-74-66—279
Jose Maria Olazabal 72-66-70-71—279
Joe Ozaki 71-70-65-73—279
D.A. Weibring 74-68-69-68—279
Lennie Clements 67-71-72-70—280
Fred Funk 70-72-68-70—280
Sandy Lyle 67-73-69-71—280
Nick Price 71-71-70-68—280
Philip Walton 71-70-71-68—280
Chip Beck 66-74-73-68—281
Ben Crenshaw 68-73-73-67—281
Jim Gallagher Jr. 64-72-73-72—281
Gene Sauers 69-71-68-73—281
Peter Senior 68-71-74-68—281
John Adams 65-76-71-70—282
Brian Claar 68-67-73-74—282
Robin Freeman 71-69-70-72—282
Jumbo Ozaki 73-68-69-72—282
Kenny Perry 75-67-70-70—282
Michael Bradley 63-73-73-74—283
Hale Irwin 71-68-71-73—283
Tom Kite 70-69-70-74—283
Scott Simpson 71-67-71-74—283
Ed Dougherty 68-72-74-70—284
Per-Ulrik Johansson 72-69-71-72—284
Steve Pate 71-71-71-71—284
Loren Roberts 74-68-71-71—284
Tom Watson 71-71-72-70—284
Barry Lane 74-68-75-68—285
Mike Sullivan 72-69-71-73—285
Lanny Wadkins 73-69-71-72—285
Dillard Pruitt 73-69-72-72—286
David Frost 69-73-72-73—287
Jack Nicklaus 69-71-71-76—287
Fuzzy Zoeller 72-69-75-72—288
Brian Kamm 71-66-74-78—289
Curtis Byrum 71-71-78-71—291
Wayne DeFrancesco 69-73-74-75—291

Previous and next:
1994 PGA Championship - 1996 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog