1996 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1996 PGA Championship was the 78th time the tournament was played, and it required a playoff to crown the winner. Mark Brooks won his only major championship title in what turned out to be the last sudden-death playoff in the PGA Championship.

Winner: Mark Brooks, 277

Where it was played: Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky

Tournament dates: August 8-11, 1996

Leader after first round: Kenny Perry, 66

Leader after second round: Phil Mickelson, 134

Leader after third round: Russ Cochran, 205

What Happened in the 1996 PGA Championship

At Valhalla in Louisville, Kentucky, Kenny Perry was playing very close to his hometown. And Perry shot a final-round 68 to force a playoff against Mark Brooks, who closed with a round of 70. But Perry's dream to win a major in Kentucky didn't come true; Brooks beat him on the first hole of the sudden-death playoff with a birdie.

Brooks birdied the final hole of regulation to get into the playoff. Perry's drive in the playoff on the par-5 No. 18 found the rough, his next two strokes failed to get the ball out of the rough, and only on his fourth stroke did Perry reach the green.

Brooks' playoff drive was right down the middle, his 3-wood approach hit the green, and he two-putted for birdie and the championship.

Perry, a 14-time winner on the PGA Tour, also lost in a playoff at the 2009 Masters Tournament. He never won a major. Brooks finished his PGA Tour career with seven overall wins. He also lost in a major championship playoff at the 2001 U.S. Open.

The 1996 PGA Championship was the "coming out" for the Jack Nicklaus-designed Valhalla Golf Club. This was Valhalla's first time as the site of major championship. Valhalla has since hosted additional major events, including PGA Championships and a Ryder Cup.

The PGA of America soon switched away from the sudden-death playoff format to a three-hole, aggregate score playoff format. The new format was first used in the 2000 PGA Championship. That makes the Brooks-Perry playoff here the last time sudden death was used in the PGA Championship.

1996 PGA Championship Final Scores

Mark Brooks 68-70-69-70-277
Kenny Perry 66-72-71-68-277
Tommy Tolles 69-71-71-67-278
Steve Elkington 67-74-67-70-278
Justin Leonard 71-66-72-70-279
Jesper Parnevik 73-67-69-70-279
Vijay Singh 69-69-69-72-279
Frank Nobilo 69-72-71-68-280
Per Johansson 73-72-66-69-280
Larry Mize 71-70-69-70-280
Lee Janzen 68-71-71-70-280
Nick Price 68-71-69-72-280
Phil Mickelson 67-67-74-72-280
Joey Sindelar 73-72-69-67-281
Tom Lehman 71-71-69-70-281
Mike Brisky 71-69-69-72-281
D.A. Weibring 71-73-71-67-282
Tom Watson 69-71-73-69-282
Brad Faxon 72-68-73-69-282
Jim Furyk 70-70-73-69-282
David Edwards 69-71-72-70-282
Greg Norman 68-72-69-73-282
Russ Cochran 68-72-65-77-282
Emlyn Aubrey 69-74-72-68-283
Miguel Jimenez 71-71-71-70-283
Steve Stricker 73-72-72-67-284
Fred Funk 73-69-73-69-284
Mark O'Meara 71-70-74-69-284
Corey Pavin 71-74-70-69-284
Curtis Strange 73-70-68-73-284
Paul Azinger 70-75-71-69-285
Michael Bradley 73-72-70-70-285
Patrick Burke 71-72-69-73-285
Tim Herron 71-73-68-73-285
Jay Haas 72-71-69-73-285
Ian Woosnam 68-72-75-71-286
Fuzzy Zoeller 76-67-72-71-286
Mark Calcavecchia 70-74-70-72-286
David Ogrin 75-70-68-73-286
Rocco Mediate 71-72-67-76-286
Fred Couples 74-68-74-71-287
David Duval 74-69-73-71-287
Gil Morgan 72-72-72-71-287
Jeff Sluman 72-72-72-71-287
John Morse 74-69-72-72-287
Glen Day 72-73-70-72-287
John Cook 69-75-74-70-288
Paul Stankowski 70-75-71-72-288
Phil Blackmar 71-74-71-72-288
Scott McCarron 69-72-74-73-288
Brian Watts 70-71-71-76-288
John Adams 72-71-75-71-289
Bob Boyd 71-71-75-72-289
Costantino Rocca 72-72-73-72-289
Jim Gallagher 73-70-74-72-289
Lee Rinker 73-71-73-72-289
Alexander Cejka 71-74-72-72-289
Neal Lancaster 71-72-73-73-289
Billy Mayfair 71-73-71-74-289
Tommy Nakajima 73-72-69-75-289
Ernie Els 74-68-79-69-290
Mark Wiebe 73-72-75-70-290
Scott Hoch 72-72-74-72-290
Dan Forsman 76-69-71-74-290
Wayne Grady 74-67-78-72-291
Craig Parry 72-73-75-71-291
Nick Faldo 69-75-74-73-291
Willie Wood 70-75-71-75-291
Woody Austin 70-74-75-73-292
Ben Crenshaw 74-71-73-74-292
Nolan Henke 72-70-75-75-292
Payne Stewart 73-70-73-76-292
Paul Goydos 71-73-77-72-293
Jeff Maggert 73-70-76-74-293
Marco Dawson 76-69-75-74-294
Bernhard Langer 73-72-78-72-295
Joel Edwards 68-76-75-77-296
Satoshi Higashi 72-72-80-73-297
Stu Ingraham 73-72-75-77-297
John Reeves 74-71-79-74-298
Howard Clark 73-72-75-78-298

Previous and next:
1995 PGA Championship - 1997 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog