1885 British Open Winner and Scores

The 1885 British Open was the 25th time this major was played. It was a one-day, 36-hole tournament.

Winner: Bob Martin, 171

Where it was played: The Old Course at St. Andrews, Scotland

Tournament dates: Oct. 3, 1885

Leader after first round: Archie Simpson, 84.

How the 1885 British Open Was Won

Following the morning 18, Archie Simpson (brother of the defending champion, Jack Simpson, who finished 12th) held a one-stroke lead over Bob Martin. Following the afternoon 18, Martin was a one-stroke winner over Simpson.

David Ayton had one of the great collapses in major championship history here: He led by five strokes with two holes to play. But on the 17th hole, the Road Hole, Ayton had to play two shots off the road. He wound up making an 11 on the hole and finished two behind Martin.

For Martin, it was his second victory in this tournament: He also won the 1876 British Open. And he finished runner-up two other times. Martin also was the first golfer to win two Opens played at St. Andrews. ... Hugh Kirkaldy, winner of the Open in 1891, made his tournament debut here at age 17.

Final Scores at the 1885 British Open

Bob Martin 84-87—171
Archie Simpson 83-89—172
David Ayton 89-84—173
Willie Fernie 89-85—174
Willie Park Jr. 86-88—174
Bob Simpson 85-89—174
Jack Burns 88-87—175
Peter Paxton 85-91—176
Willie Campbell 86-91—177
James O. Morris 91-86—177
a-Horace Hutchinson 87-91—178
Jack Kirkaldy 94-84—178
a-John E. Laidlay 87-92—179
Jack Simpson 87-92—179
Ben Sayers 94-86—180
a-Leslie Balfour Melville 90-91—181
W. Greig 89-92—181
a-Harry Everard 90-92—182
George Fernie 87-95—182
James Rennie 90-92—182
a-David Anderson 96-87—183
Ben Campbell 88-96—184
William Brown 91-95—186
William Anderson 90-97—187
a-Samuel Mure Fergusson 96-91—187
a-W.H. Goff 97-91—188
a-T.S. Hendry 94-95—189
Robert Kinsman 96-93—189
Jamie Allan 93-97—190
William Cosgrove 88-102—190
a-Bruce Goff 96-94—190
Old Tom Morris 96-94—190
T. Grinlay 96-95—191
David Auchterlonie 93-99—192
Willie Dunn 95-97—192
Jack Morris 98-95—193
Hugh Kirkaldy 101-93—194
Tom Auchterlonie 103-92—195
David Corstorphine 97-98—195
David Grant Sr. 98-97—195
James Kirk 99-96—195
George Mason 94-101—195
David Anderson Jr. 100-97—197
David Baldie 97-101—198
Douglas McEwan 97-101—198
J. Kinsman 100-99—199

Popular posts from this blog