1892 British Open Winner and Scores

The 1892 British Open was the 32nd time this major was played. This was the second Open won by an amateur golfer.

Winner: Harold Hilton, 305

Where it was played: Muirfield in Gullane, East Lothian, Scotland

Tournament dates: Sept. 22-23, 1892

Leader after first round: Horace Hutchinson, 74

Leader after second round: Horace Hutchinson, 152

Leader after third round: John Ball, 229

Notable Notes: This was the first British Open played over 72 holes (36 holes on each of two days). ... Two years after John Ball became the first amateur winner of the Open, Harold "Hal" Hilton became the second. ... Hilton trailed Ball by two strokes after three rounds following a 72 in Round 3. ... After Ball, Sandy Herd and Hugh Kirkaldy all posted 308, Hilton was the last to finish and claimed a 3-stroke victory. ... This was the first British Open played at Muirfield, whose 18-hole, private links opened only nine months previous.

Final Scores

a-Harold Hilton 78-81-72-74—305
a-John Ball 75-80-74-79—308
Sandy Herd 77-78-77-76—308
Hugh Kirkaldy 77-83-73-75—308
James Kay 82-78-74-78—312
Ben Sayers 80-76-81-75—312
Willie Park Jr. 78-77-80-80—315
Willie Fernie 79-83-76-78—316
Archie Simpson 81-81-76-79—317
a-Horace Hutchinson 74-78-86-80—318
Jack White 82-78-78-81—319
Tom Vardon 83-75-80-82—320
a-Edward Blackwell 81-82-82-76—321
Andrew Kirkaldy 84-82-80-75—321
a-Samuel Mure Fergusson 78-82-80-82—322
David Anderson Jr. 76-82-79-87—324
a-Robert T. Boothby 81-81-80-82—324
Ben Campbell 86-83-79-76—324
a-F.A. Fairlie 83-87-79-76—325
William McEwan 79-83-84-79—325
W.D. More 87-75-80-84—326
a-Garden Smith 84-82-79-81—326
a-Freddie Tait 81-83-84-78—326
David Brown 77-82-84-85—328
George Douglas 81-83-86-79—329
Douglas McEwan 84-84-82-79—329
a-Ernly Blackwell 79-81-84-86—330
a-Leslie Balfour Melville 83-87-80-81—331
Jack Simpson 84-78-82-87—331
Charlie Crawford 79-85-85-84—333
David Grant 85-82-84-83—334
Albert Tingey 84-83-81-86—334
Willie Campbell 87-84-84-80—335
a-David Leitch 85-88-79-84—336
Walter Kirk 87-82-84-84—337
a-J.M. Williamson 88-82-82-85—337
Jack Ferguson 86-86-83-83—338
a-L.S. Anderson 93-85-81-81—340
a-Alexander Stuart 87-84-84-85—340
James Martin 93-80-85-86—344
a-J. McCulloch 85-84-90-85—344
Joseph Dalgleish 88-88-81-88—345
a-John LOW 84-93-83-86—346
a-David Anderson 92-88-80-87—347
a-E.M. Fitzjohn 88-94-84-84—350
David Clark 91-93-88-87—359
George Sayers 89-94-87-89—359
a-A.H. Molesworth 91-89-87-93—360
Tom Chisholm 90-93-90-90—363
Tom Morris Sr. 91-90-91-92—364
a-Ernest Lehmann 100-86-91-90—367
Fred Fitzjohn 105-95-83-89—372

Popular posts from this blog

The Vijay Singh Cheating Incident Explained

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List