2000 U.S. Open Golf Championship Winner and Scores

The 2000 U.S. Open was the 100th time this major championship was played, and Tiger Woods turned in arguably the greatest performance ever by a golfer in a major — or any other tournament.

Winner: Tiger Woods, 272

Where it was played: Pebble Beach Golf Links in Pebble Beach, California

Tournament dates: June 15-18, 2000

Leader after first round: Tiger Woods, 65

Leader after second round: Tiger Woods, 134

Leader after third round: Tiger Woods, 205

What Happened in the 2000 U.S. Open

It was the 100th U.S. Open, and it was Tiger Woods' first victory in this tournament. He celebrated both occasions in style, not only winning wire-to-wire, but dominating as never seen before. Woods led by one after the first round, but six after two rounds and by 10 following the third round. He won by a whopping, and record-setting, 15 strokes. Woods finished at 12-under; no other golfer was under par. He tied the then-tournament scoring record with a 272, and shattered the then-tournament record for strokes under par (which had been 8-under). This was also the first tournament in Woods' "Tiger Slam," his streak of four straight wins in majors from the 2000 U.S. Open through the 2001 Masters.

The 65 that Woods scored in the first round held up as the best round of the tournament. The distant runners-up, 15 strokes behind at 3-over-par, were Ernie Els and Miguel Angel Jimenez. This was Woods' third overall win in a major championship, and the 20th win of his PGA Tour career.

The 1999 U.S. Open winner, Payne Stewart, died in an airplane crash the previous October. A ceremony of remembrance for Stewart was held on the 18th hole the night before the 2000 U.S. Open began. A traditional first- and second-round grouping at the U.S. Open included the defending champion plus the reigning British Open winner and U.S. Amateur winner. The USGA asked Jack Nicklaus to take Stewart's spot in that grouping.

It was the record 44th consecutive start in a U.S. Open for Nicklaus, a four-time winner of this major. It was also the last time Nicklaus ever played in a U.S. Open. He missed the cut. Another former champ who missed the cut in his last U.S. Open appearance was Curtis Strange, winner in 1988 and 1989.

2000 U.S. Open Final Scores

Tiger Woods 65-69-71-67—272
Miguel Angel Jimenez 66-74-76-71—287
Ernie Els 74-73-68-72—287
John Huston 67-75-76-70—288
Lee Westwood 71-71-76-71—289
Padraig Harrington 73-71-72-73—289
Nick Faldo 69-74-76-71—290
Loren Roberts 68-78-73-72—291
David Duval 75-71-74-71—291
Stewart Cink 77-72-72-70—291
Vijay Singh 70-73-80-68—291
Paul Azinger 71-73-79-69—292
Retief Goosen 77-72-72-71—292
Michael Campbell 71-77-71-73—292
Jose Maria Olazabal 70-71-76-75—292
Fred Couples 70-75-75-73—293
Phil Mickelson 71-73-73-76—293
Mike Weir 76-72-76-69—293
Scott Hoch 73-76-75-69—293
Justin Leonard 73-73-75-72—293
David Toms 73-76-72-72—293
Notah Begay III 74-75-72-73—294
Tom Lehman 71-73-78-73—295
Mike Brisky 71-73-79-72—295
Hal Sutton 69-73-83-70—295
Bob May 72-76-75-72—295
Tom Watson 71-74-78-73—296
Steve Jones 75-73-75-73—296
Nick Price 77-70-78-71—296
Hale Irwin 68-78-81-69—296
Steve Stricker 75-74-75-72—296
Lee Porter 74-70-83-70—297
Tom Kite 72-77-77-71—297
Richard Zokol 74-74-80-69—297
Chris Perry 75-72-78-72—297
Rocco Mediate 69-76-75-77—297
Woody Austin 77-70-78-73—298
Angel Cabrera 69-76-79-74—298
Jerry Kelly 73-73-81-71—298
Charles Warren 75-74-75-74—298
Craig Parry 73-74-76-75—298
Ted Tryba 71-73-79-75—298
Lee Janzen 71-73-79-75—298
Bobby Clampett 68-77-76-77—298
Larry Mize 73-72-76-77—298
Thomas Bjorn 70-70-82-77—299
Rick Hartmann 73-75-75-76—299
Sergio Garcia 75-71-81-72—299
Colin Montgomerie 73-74-79-73—299
Scott Verplank 72-74-78-75—299
Mark O'Meara 74-74-78-74—300
Warren Schultte 74-75-74-77—300
Jeff Coston 70-77-80-74—301
Keith Clearwater 74-74-80-73—301
Darren Clarke 71-75-83-72—301
Kirk Triplett 70-71-84-77—302
Jimmy Green 74-75-77-77—303
Dave Eichelberger 78-69-77-79—303
a-Jeffrey Wilson 74-72-82-76—304
Jim Furyk 72-74-84-75—305
Brandel Chamblee 70-77-82-77—306
Carlos Franco 74-75-75-82—306
Robert Damron 72-73-84-84—313

Previous and next:
1999 U.S. Open - 2001 U.S. Open

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List