2001 Masters: Completing the Tiger Slam

Tiger Woods completed what became known as the "Tiger Slam" by winning the 2001 Masters, which was the 65th edition of this major championship tournament.

Winner: Tiger Woods, 272

Where it was played: Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, Georgia

Tournament dates: April 5-8, 2001

Leader after first round: Chris DiMarco, 65

Leader after second round: Chris DiMarco, 134

Leader after third round: Tiger Woods, 204

Notable Notes: The "Grand Slam" is winning all four majors in the same calendar year. But Tiger Woods finished the year 2000 by winning the final three majors, then began the year 2001 by winning The Masters. That meant he held all four professional major championship trophies simultaneously. It wasn't a Grand Slam, so Tiger's feat — never before accomplished — was called the Tiger Slam.

It was Woods' second Masters victory. He pulled away from Phil Mickelson and held off David Duval in the final round.

Final Scores

Tiger Woods 70-66-68-68=272
David Duval 71-66-70-67=274
Phil Mickelson 67-69-69-70=275
Mark Calcavecchia 72-66-68-72=278
Toshi Izawa 71-66-74-67=278
Ernie Els 71-68-68-72=279
Jim Furyk 69-71-70-69=279
Bernhard Langer 73-69-68-69=279
Kirk Triplett0 68-70-70-71=279
Angel Cabrera 66-71-70-73=280
Chris DiMarco 65-69-72-74=280
Brad Faxon 73-68-68-71=280
Miguel Angel Jimenez 68-72-71-69=280
Steve Stricker 66-71-72-71=280
Paul Azinger 70-71-71-69=281
Rocco Mediate 72-70-66-73=281
Jose Maria Olazabal 70-68-71-72=281
Tom Lehman 75-68-71-68=282
Vijay Singh 69-71-73-69=282
John Huston 67-75-72-69=283
Jeff Maggert 72-70-70-71=283
Mark O'Meara 69-74-72-68=283
Jesper Parnevik 71-71-72-69=283
Darren Clarke 72-67-72-73=284
Tom Scherrer 71-71-70-73=285
Fred Couples 74-71-73-68=286
Padraig Harrington 75-69-72-71=287
Steve Jones 74-70-72-71=287
Justin Leonard 73-71-72-71=287
Mike Weir 74-69-72-72=287
Stuart Appleby 72-70-70-76=288
Mark Brooks 70-71-77-70=288
Lee Janzen 67-70-72-79=288
David Toms 72-72-71-73=288
Duffy Waldorf 72-70-71-75=288
Hal Sutton 74-69-71-75=289
Scott Hoch 74-70-72-74=290
Chris Perry 68-74-74-74=290
Loren Roberts 71-74-73-72=290
Shingo Katayama 75-70-73-74=292
Franklin Langham 72-73-75-72=292
Steve Lowery 72-72-78-70=292
Dudley Hart 74-70-78-71=293
Jonathan Kaye 74-71-74-74=293
Bob May 71-74-73-75=293
Carlos Franco 71-71-77-75=294
Robert Allenby 71-74-75-75=295

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List