2000 PGA Championship: Epic David-vs.-Goliath Showdown

The 2000 PGA Championship was the 82nd edition of the tournament. It was a David vs. Goliath battle, in the end won by Goliath in a playoff.

Winner: Tiger Woods, 270

Where it was played: Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky

Tournament dates: August 17-20, 2000

Leader after first round: Tiger Woods and Scott Dunlap, 66

Leader after second round: Tiger Woods, 133

Leader after third round: Tiger Woods, 203

Notable Notes: Tiger Woods led journeyman Bob May by one stroke entering the final round, but just couldn't shake May. In fact, it was Woods who had to make important putts down the stretch to stay with May ... which Tiger did, with birdies on the final two holes. That tied the score, and the pair went into a 3-hole aggregate playoff (the first time that format was used in a PGA Championship).

Woods birdied the first playoff hole, both players parred out from there, so Woods' one-stroke advantage held up for the win. It was Woods' second-straight PGA Championship win (he was the first back-to-back winner since 1937), and fifth overall major.

Final Scores

Tiger Woods 66-67-70-67—270
Bob May 72-66-66-66—270
Thomas Bjorn 72-68-67-68—275
Jose Maria Olazabal 76-68-63-69—276
Stuart Appleby 70-69-68-69—276
Greg Chalmers 71-69-66-70—276
Franklin Langham 72-71-65-69—277
Notah Begay III 72-66-70-70—278
Scott Dunlap 66-68-70-75—279
Davis Love III 68-69-72-70—279
Darren Clarke 68-72-72-67—279
Phil Mickelson 70-70-69-70—279
Tom Watson 76-70-65-68—279
Fred Funk 69-68-74-68—279
Michael Clark II 73-70-67-70—280
Chris DiMarco 73-70-69-68—280
Lee Westwood 72-72-69-67—280
Stewart Cink 72-71-70-67—280
Tom Kite 70-72-69-70—281
Robert Allenby 73-71-68-69—281
Angel Cabrera 72-71-71-67—281
J.P. Hayes 69-68-68-76—281
Lee Janzen 76-70-70-65—281
Paul Azinger 72-71-66-73—282
Jarmo Sandelin 74-72-68-68—282
Steve Jones 72-71-70-69—282
Skip Kendall 72-72-69-70—283
Tom Pernice Jr. 74-69-70-70—283
Brad Faxon 71-74-70-68—283
Kenny Perry 78-68-70-68—284
Jean Van de Velde 70-74-69-71—284
Mike Weir 76-69-68-71—284
Stephen Ames 69-71-71-73—284
Blaine McCallister 73-71-70-71—285
Ernie Els 74-68-72-71—285
Chris Perry 72-74-70-69—285
Mark Calcavecchia 73-74-71-67—285
Sergio Garcia 74-69-73-69—285
Toshimitsui Izawa 73-73-71-69—286
Colin Montgomerie 74-72-70-70—286
Justin Leonard 73-73-71-70—287
Steve Pate 75-70-74-68—287
Paul Stankowski 75-72-68-72—287
David Toms 72-68-72-75—287
Jeff Sluman 73-69-72-73—287
Mark O'Meara 71-72-70-75—288
Brian Henninger 70-74-71-73—288
Bernhard Langer 75-69-73-71—288
Shigeki Maruyama 77-69-71-71—288
Duffy Waldorf 75-70-71-72—288
Jesper Parnevik 72-74-70-73—289
Glen Day 76-71-71-71—289
Andrew Coltart 74-71-73-71—289
Jonathan Kaye 69-74-71-75—289
Brian Watts 72-74-73-70—289
Steve Lowery 73-74-73-69—289
Nick Faldo 79-68-69-73—289
Padraig Harrington 75-72-69-74—290
Dennis Paulson 72-75-70-73—290
Loren Roberts 74-72-71-73—290
Carlos Franco 72-74-74-70—290
Curtis Strange 72-70-76-72—290
Joe Ogilvie 73-74-71-72—290
Jay Haas 73-74-68-76—291
Wayne Grady 71-74-68-78—291
Craig Stadler 74-69-71-77—291
Bill Glasson 73-74-71-73—291
Miguel Angel Jimenez 70-77-74-70—291
Greg Kraft 71-73-75-73—292
Kirk Triplett 76-71-73-72—292
John Huston 75-72-74-72—293
Jim Furyk 74-71-74-75—294
Paul Lawrie 75-71-73-75—294
Scott Hoch 73-70-75-79—297
Robert Damron 72-74-81-70—297
Billy Mayfair 74-73-76-74—297
Rory Sabbatini 74-71-76-78—299
Jumbo Ozaki 74-71-76-79—300
Hidemichi Tanaka 72-73-77-79—301
Frank Dobbs 75-72-88-78—313

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List