2007 Masters Tournament Winner and Scores

The 2007 Masters (the 71st time the tournament was played) was won by the short-hitting Zach Johnson, whose course management and putting skills served him well. On a golf course known to suit big hitters, Johnson played this strength — hitting fairways, making putts — to win the championship.

Winner: Zach Johnson, 289

Where it was played: Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, Georgia

Tournament dates: April 5-8, 2007

Leader after first round: Justin Rose and Brett Wetterich, 69

Leader after second round: Tim Clark and Brett Wetterich, 142

Leader after third round: Stuart Appleby, 218

What Happened in the 2007 Masters Tournament

Zach Johnson, never known for length off the tee, managed his way around Augusta National Golf Course and to the victory in the 2007 Masters Tournament.

Augusta National's par-5 holes are where the big hitters feel like they can make their moves in The Masters. Johnson laid up on those par-5 holes, played wedges into the greens, then putted for birdies. While he never had a putt for eagle with that strategy, it clearly worked for him — he finished the tournament 11-under par on the par-5s, best in the field.

It was a very tough-scoring tournament overall, however. Johnson's winning score of 1-over-par 289 tied the highest winning totals in Masters history. This was just Johnson's second overall win on the PGA Tour (he eventually reached double digits), and he went on to win a second major at the 2015 British Open.

Tiger Woods finished tied for second with Retief Goosen and Rory Sabbatini, two strokes behind. Woods seem poised at many points during the final round to make a move, but just couldn't get it done. Woods' 2007 Masters is probably best remembered for the 4-iron he snapped against a tree playing a stroke from the woods on the 11th hole of the final round. He did, briefly, hold the lead during the final round, making this the first major championship Woods failed to win after holding the lead at any point in the final round.

Gary Player made his 50th appearance as a player in The Masters, tying Arnold Palmer's record (Player broke the record the following year). But Palmer was back in The Masters, too, in a way: For the first time, Palmer appeared as a Masters honorary starter, hitting the ceremonial opening tee shot.

The 2007 Masters was the last appearance in a major by Seve Ballesteros, winner of the 1980 Masters and 1983 Masters.

2007 Masters Final Scores

Zach Johnson 71-73-76-69—289
Rory Sabbatini 73-76-73-69—291
Retief Goosen 76-76-70-69—291
Tiger Woods 73-74-72-72—291
Jerry Kelly 75-69-78-70—292
Justin Rose 69-75-75-73—292
Padraig Harrington 77-68-75-73—293
Stuart Appleby 75-70-73-75—293
David Toms 70-78-74-72—294
Paul Casey 79-68-77-71—295
Luke Donald 73-74-75-73—295
Vaughn Taylor 71-72-77-75—295
Ian Poulter 75-75-76-70—296
Vijay Singh 73-71-79-73—296
Tim Clark 71-71-80-74—296
Jim Furyk 75-71-76-74—296
Stewart Cink 77-75-75-70—297
Tom Pernice Jr. 75-72-79-71—297
Henrik Stenson 72-76-77-72—297
Mike Weir 75-72-80-71—298
John Rollins 77-74-76-71—298
Mark Calcavecchia 76-71-78-73—298
Lucas Glover 74-71-79-74—298
Stephen Ames 76-74-77-72—299
Geoff Ogilvy 75-70-81-73—299
Phil Mickelson 76-73-73-77—299
Adam Scott 74-78-76-72—300
Davis Love III 72-77-77-74—300
K.J. Choi 75-75-74-76—300
Fred Couples 76-76-78-71—301
Robert Karlsson 77-73-79-72—301
Y.E. Yang 75-74-78-74—301
Charles Howell III 75-77-75-74—301
Scott Verplank 73-77-76-75—301
Lee Westwood 79-73-72-77—301
Dean Wilson 75-72-76-78—301
Angel Cabrera 77-75-79-71—302
Tim Herron 72-75-83-72—302
J.J. Henry 71-78-77-76—302
Brett Wetterich 69-73-83-77—302
Rod Pampling 77-75-74-76—302
Jeev Milkha Singh 72-75-76-79—302
Sandy Lyle 79-73-80-71—303
Shingo Katayama 79-72-80-73—304
Miguel Angel Jimenez 79-73-76-76—304
David Howell 70-75-82-77—304
Jose Maria Olazabal 74-75-78-77—304
Bradley Dredge 75-70-76-83—304
Jeff Sluman 76-75-79-75—305
Craig Stadler 74-73-79-79—305
Brett Quigley 76-76-79-75—306
Carl Pettersson 76-76-79-76—307
Aaron Baddeley 79-72-76-80—307
Rich Beem 71-81-75-81—308
Ben Crenshaw 76-74-84-75—309
Trevor Immelman 74-77-81-77—309
Niclas Fasth 77-75-77-80—309
Arron Oberholser 74-76-84-76—310
Billy Mayfair 76-75-83-77—311
Fuzzy Zoeller 74-78-79-82—313

Previous and next:
2006 Masters - 2008 Masters

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List