All American Open (Tam O'Shanter Open) on PGA Tour

The All American Open was a golf tournament on the PGA Tour that ran through most of the 1940s and 1950s. In its day, it was one of the prestige tournaments on the U.S. pro circuit. That's visible in its impressive list of champions.

For several years, the tournament offered a $10,000 first-place prize, which was larger than most other PGA Tour stop's entire purse. ... In 1947, Bobby Locke beat Ed Oliver in a 36-hole playoff. That was the very last time a 36-hole playoff was played in a non-major PGA Tour tournament.

First played: 1941

Last played: 1957

Also known as: Tam O'Shanter Open

Winners of the All American Open
1957 — Roberto DeVicenzo
1956 — Dutch Harrison
1955 — Doug Ford
1954 — Jerry Barber
1953 — Lloyd Mangrum
1952 — Sam Snead
1951 — Cary Middlecoff
1950 — Bobby Locke
1949 — Lloyd Mangrum
1948 — Lloyd Mangrum
1947 — Bobby Locke
1946 — Herman Barron
1945 — Byron Nelson
1944 — Byron Nelson
1943 — Jug McSpaden
1942 — Byron Nelson
1941 — Byron Nelson

Golf Courses: The tournament was played at the Tam O'Shanter Country Club in Niles, Ill., a northeastern bedroom community of Chicago. The tournament was sometimes referred to as the Tam O'Shanter Open.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List