1990 Masters Tournament Winner and Scores

The 1990 Masters was the 54th one played. Forty-eight-year-old Raymond Floyd made a run at becoming the oldest Masters winner ever. But Nick Faldo caught him after 72 holes, then won the sudden-death playoff. It was the second consecutive year Faldo won The Masters in a playoff.

Winner: Nick Faldo, 278

Where it was played: Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, Georgia

Tournament dates: April 5-8, 1990

Leader after first round: Mike Donald, 64

Leader after second round: Raymond Floyd, 138

Leader after third round: Raymond Floyd, 206

What Happened at the 1990 Masters Tournament

At 48 years old, Raymond Floyd, the 1976 Masters champion, was in position to become the oldest winner of the tournament. The record had been set just four years earlier when 46-year-old Jack Nicklaus won the 1986 Masters. Floyd was the second-round leader and third-round leader.

And Floyd led through most of the final round. When Floyd birdied the 12th hole, he opened a four-stroke lead. But then Faldo birdied the 13th, and added another on the 15th. When Faldo birdied the 16th hole, he pulled within one of Floyd. Floyd then bogeyed the 17th hole, dropping into a tie with Faldo. After both golfers parred the last hole, they finished tied at 10-under 278.

The sudden-death playoff began on the 10th hole, and both players made pars. On the second extra hole, however, Floyd hit his 7-iron approach shot to the 11th green into the water. Faldo made a tap-in par for the win.

That made it back-to-back wins for Faldo, who won the 1989 Masters in a sudden-death playoff against Scott Hoch. He was just the second golfer to win consecutive Masters titles, after Nicklaus (1965 and 1966).

And speaking of Nicklaus, it was a good week all around for "older" golfers. The 50-year-old Nicklaus finished in solo sixth. And 54-year-old Gary Player finished tied for 24th, his last Top 25 finish in any of the four majors.

Three-time champion Seve Ballesteros tied for seventh, his last Top 10 finish in The Masters. Faldo eventually joined Ballesteros as a three-time champ, also winning the 1996 Masters.

1990 Masters Final Scores

Nick Faldo 71-72-66-69—278
Raymond Floyd 70-68-68-72—278
John Huston 66-74-68-75—283
Lanny Wadkins 72-73-70-68—283
Fred Couples 74-69-72-69—284
Jack Nicklaus 72-70-69-74—285
Seve Ballesteros 74-73-68-71—286
Bill Britton 68-74-71-73—286
Bernhard Langer 70-73-69-74—286
Scott Simpson 74-71-68-73—286
Curtis Strange 70-73-71-72—286
Tom Watson 77-71-67-71—286
Jose Maria Olazabal 72-73-68-74—287
Ben Crenshaw 72-74-73-69—288
Scott Hoch 71-68-73-76—288
Tom Kite 75-73-66-74—288
Larry Mize 70-76-71-71—288
Ronan Rafferty 72-74-69-73—288
Craig Stadler 72-70-74-72—288
Mark Calcavecchia 74-73-73-69—289
Steve Jones 77-69-72-71—289
Fuzzy Zoeller 72-74-73-70—289
Jumbo Ozaki 70-71-77-72—290
Donnie Hammond 71-74-75-71—291
Gary Player 73-74-68-76—291
Lee Trevino 78-69-72-72—291
Wayne Grady 72-75-73-72—292
Andy North 71-73-77-71—292
Jeff Sluman 78-68-75-71—292
Peter Jacobsen 67-75-76-75—293
Jodie Mudd 74-70-73-76—293
Ian Woosnam 72-75-70-76—293
Andy Bean 76-72-74-72—294
Bill Glasson 70-75-76-73—294
Joe Ozaki 75-73-74-72—294
Mark McCumber 74-74-76-71—295
Payne Stewart 71-73-77-74—295
Bob Tway 72-76-73-74—295
Chip Beck 72-74-75-75—296
Mark Lye 75-73-73-75—296
a-Chris Patton 71-73-74-78—296
John Mahaffey 72-74-75-76—297
Don Pooley 73-73-72-79—297
Peter Senior 72-75-73-77—297
Mike Hulbert 71-71-77-79—298
Tom Purtzer 71-77-76-74—298
Mike Donald 64-82-77-76—299
Larry Nelson 74-73-79-74—300
George Archer 70-74-82-75—301

Previous and next:
1989 Masters - 1991 Masters

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List