1989 Masters Tournament Results and Winner

The 1989 Masters was the 53rd edition of this major championship, and the site of Nick Faldo's first Masters win. He won it on the second hole of a sudden-death playoff against Scott Hoch.

Winner: Nick Faldo, 283

Where it was played: Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, Georgia

Tournament dates: April 6-9, 1989

Leader after first round: Lee Trevino, 67

Leader after second round: Lee Trevino and Nick Faldo, 141

Leader after third round: Ben Crenshaw, 213

What Happened at the 1989 Masters Tournament

Scott Hoch should have won the 1989 Masters. On the first playoff hole against Nick Faldo, Hoch had a 2-foot putt for the win. Somehow, he missed it. That gave Faldo the opening he needed, and on the second playoff hole Faldo won it with a birdie. He was the first golfer from England to win a Masters. It was the first of Faldo's three Masters victories. He repeated as champ in 1990, becoming the first back-to-back winner since Jack Nicklaus in 1965-66. And Faldo won again in the 1996 Masters.

Faldo began the final round five strokes off the lead of Ben Crenshaw. Crenshaw shot 71 in the final round, Faldo shot 65 with eight birdies to finish one stroke ahead of Crenshaw. Hoch had a final-round 69 and tied Faldo at 5-under 283.

That final-round 65 by Faldo was the low round of the tournament. And he earned it with birdie putts of challenging lengths down the stretch. He made a 12-foot birdie on the 13th and a short one on the 14th, then a big-breaking 15-footer on the 16th. Finally, Faldo made a 30-foot birdie on the second-to-last hole of regulation. In the playoff, after Hoch missed the short one on the first extra hole, Faldo sank a 25-footer on the second playoff hole to win.

Crenshaw missed the playoff when he made bogey on the final hole. Greg Norman also bogeyed the final hole and missed the playoff by a stroke.

Forty-nine-year-old Lee Trevino was the surprise first-round leader, and shared the Round 2 lead, but carded an 81 in Round 3 to fall off the pace.

1989 Masters Final Scores

x-Nick Faldo 68-73-77-65—283
Scott Hoch 69-74-71-69—283
Ben Crenshaw 71-72-70-71—284
Greg Norman 74-75-68-67—284
Seve Ballesteros 71-72-73-69—285
Mike Reid 72-71-71-72—286
Jodie Mudd 73-76-72-66—287
Chip Beck 74-76-70-68—288
Jose Maria Olazabal 77-73-70-68—288
Jeff Sluman 74-72-74-68—288
Fred Couples 72-76-74-67—289
Ken Green 74-69-73-73—289
Mark O'Meara 74-71-72-72—289
Paul Azinger 75-75-69-71—290
Don Pooley 70-77-76-67—290
Tom Watson 72-73-74-71—290
Ian Woosnam 74-76-71-69—290
David Frost 76-72-73-70—291
Tom Kite 72-72-72-75—291
Jack Nicklaus 73-74-73-71—291
Jumbo Ozaki 71-75-73-72—291
Curtis Strange 74-71-74-72—291
Lee Trevino 67-74-81-69—291
Tom Purtzer 71-76-73-72—292
Payne Stewart 73-75-74-70—292
Bernhard Langer 74-75-71-73—293
Larry Mize 72-77-69-75—293
Steve Pate 76-75-74-68—293
Lanny Wadkins 76-71-73-73—293
Fuzzy Zoeller 76-74-69-74—293
Mark Calcavecchia 74-72-74-74—294
Steve Jones 74-73-80-67—294
Dave Rummells 74-74-75-71—294
Hubert Green 74-75-76-71—296
Peter Jacobsen 74-73-78-71—296
Bruce Lietzke 74-75-79-68—296
Bob Gilder 75-74-77-71—297
Tommy Aaron 76-74-72-76—298
Charles Coody 76-74-76-72—298
Raymond Floyd 76-75-73-74—298
Scott Simpson 72-77-72-77—298
Dan Pohl 72-74-78-75—299
George Archer 75-75-75-75—300
Mark McCumber 72-75-81-72—300
Greg Twiggs 75-76-79-70—300
Jay Haas 73-77-79-72—301
Bob Lohr 75-76-77-73—301
Mike Sullivan 76-74-73-78—301
D.A. Weibring 72-79-74-76—301
Corey Pavin 74-74-78-76—302
Andy Bean 70-80-77-77—304
T.C. Chen 71-75-76-84—306

Previous and next:
1988 Masters - 1990 Masters

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List