1897 British Open Winner and Scores

The 1897 British Open was the 37th time this major was played, and an amateur won his second title here.

Winner: Harold Hilton, 314

Where it was played: Royal Liverpool Golf Club in Hoylake, England

Tournament dates: May 19-20, 1897

Leader after first round: John Ball and Sandy Herd, 78

Leader after second round: James Braid, 154

Leader after third round: James Braid, 236

Notable Notes: Amateur golfer Harold "Hal" Hilton trailed James Braid by three entering the final round. But Braid wasn't yet known as a member of the "Great Triumvirate." He eventually won five Opens, but had not yet won his first. ... Braid shot 79 in the final round to Hilton's 75, allowing Hilton to capture the win. ... It was Hilton's second British Open win. ... This was the last British Open to have no qualifying rounds and no cut.

Final Scores

a-Harold Hilton 80-75-84-75—314
James Braid 80-74-82-79—315
George Pulford 80-79-79-79—317
a-Freddie Tait 79-79-80-79—317
Sandy Herd 78-81-79-80—318
Harry Vardon 84-80-80-76—320
David Brown 79-82-80-83—324
Archie Simpson 83-81-81-79—324
Tom Vardon 81-81-79-83—324
Andrew Kirkaldy 83-83-82-82—330
J.H. Taylor 82-80-82-86—330
a-Samuel Mure Fergusson 87-83-79-82—331
Ben Sayers 84-78-85-84—331
Peter McEwan 86-79-85-82—332
Thomas Renouf 86-79-83-84—332
Andrew Scott 83-83-84-83—333
a-John Ball 78-81-88-87—334
Willie Auchterlonie 84-85-85-81—335
a-John Graham Jr. 85-80-87-83—335
James Kinnell 82-83-78-93—336
Joe Lloyd 86-84-82-84—336
Willie Fernie 81-82-93-81—337
Willie Park Jr. 91-81-83-82—337
Alfred Toogood 88-82-84-83—337
James Kay 86-81-86-85—338
Walter Toogood 87-89-80-83—339
James Sherlock 85-86-84-85—340
Jack Rowe 84-86-86-86—342
a-John E. Laidlay 82-86-86-89—343
John Cuthbert 89-83-87-85—344
Charles Gibson 88-90-80-86—344
C. Ralph Smith 88-82-94-80—344
John W. Taylor 87-84-85-88—344
Albert Tingey 86-86-87-85—344
Bernard Nicholls 85-88-86-87—346
Bob Simpson 92-80-84-90—346
Walter Kirk 85-86-92-86—349
Tom Williamson 87-88-86-88—349
a-C.E. Hambro 86-93-83-88—350
William Leaver 89-85-90-86—350
Jack Ross 83-84-93-92—352
Jack Youds 91-85-86-90—352
Tom Yeoman 91-86-89-87—353
Robert Munro 92-88-90-87—357
John Hutchings 87-91-88-92—358
Frank Wingate 92-88-92-87—359
Robert Rutherford 94-90-88-89—361
H.E. Way 87-93-95-88—363
James Hepburn 97-93-91-84—365
a-Andrew W. Smith 95-86-92-92—365
a-H.A. Farrar 94-93-85-95—367
Peter Paxton 89-96-92-90—367

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List