Standard Register Ping Golf Tournament (LPGA)

The Standard Register Ping golf tournament was played for 30 years on the LPGA Tour in the Phoenix-Scottsdale area in Arizona. It went by many names over its history, perhaps the best-remembered other name is Safeway International.

First played: 1980

Last played: 2009

This tournament is most famous as the site of the first round of 59 in tour history, shot by Annika Sorenstam on her way to winning in 2001. The year before that, Annika's sister Charlotta was the champion.

Annika won three times total, but the tournament record for wins is held by Laura Davies with four. And Davies' wins happened in consecutive years, from 1994 through 1997.

Two big things happened at the 1988 tournament: Ok-Hee Ku won, becoming the first Korean winner ever on the LPGA Tour. And, during the Monday qualifying round, Mary Bea Porter saw a family in the backyard of a house next to the golf course desparately trying to revive their young son, who had fallen into the swimming pool. She jumped the 6-foot fence and applied CPR until paramedics arrived, saving the boy's life.

Also known as: Name in its final year was J Golf Phoenix LPGA International, and it debuted as the Sun City Classic. In-between, names included Samaritan Turqouise Classic; Standard Register Turquoise Classic; Safeway Ping; and Safeway International

Winners of the Standard Register Ping

2009 — Karrie Webb
2008 — Lorena Ochoa
2007 — Lorena Ochoa
2006 — Juli Inkster
2005 — Annika Sorenstam
2004 — Annika Sorenstam
2003 — Se Ri Pak
2002 — Rachel Heatherington
2001 — Annika Sorenstam
2000 — Charlotta Sorenstam
1999 — Karrie Webb
1998 — Liselotte Neumann
1997 — Laura Davies
1996 — Laura Davies
1995 — Laura Davies
1994 — Laura Davies
1993 — Patty Sheehan
1992 — Danielle Ammaccapane
1991 — Danielle Ammaccapane
1990 — Pat Bradley
1989 — Allison Finney
1988 — Ok-Hee Ku
1987 — Pat Bradley
1986 — Mary Beth Zimmerman
1985 — Betsy King
1984 — Christa Johnson
1983 — Anne Marie Palli
1982 — Beth Daniel
1981 — Patty Hayes
1980 — Jan Stephenson

Golf Courses: Over its history was most commonly played at Moon Valley Country Club; ended at Papago Golf Course, and also visited Superstition Mountain Golf and Country Club.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List