1880 British Open Winner and Scores

The 1880 British Open was the 20th time this major was played. The winner was beginning a streak of three consecutive Open victories.

Winner: Bob Ferguson, 162

Where it was played: Musselburgh Links in Musselburgh, East Lothian, Scotland

Tournament dates: April 9, 1880

Leader after first round: Bob Ferguson and Peter Paxton, 81

What Happened in the 1880 Open Championship

The 1880 British Open was the site of Bob Ferguson's first championship. Ferguson went on to win the tournament in 1881 and 1882, as well (and lost in a playoff going for four in a row at the 1883 British Open).

Ferguson's tournament didn't get off to a great start, though: He had to play off a road on the second hole, and his next shot struck a telegraph pole. But following two loops around the Musselburgh nine, Ferguson still had the first-round lead at 81.

Ferguson and Peter Paxton shared the lead following the morning 18 (two rounds over the 9-hole links), and they finished 1-2. But Ferguson pulled away from Paxton in the afternoon, winning by five.

The defending champion, Jamie Anderson, would have been going for his fourth consecutive Open victory here, but he chose not to enter the tournament. Future winner Willie Park Jr. did enter, and finished 16th in his first appearance. Park Jr. joined his father, Willie Park Sr. (15th) and uncle, Mungo Park (20th) in the field.

The tournament featured a hole-in-one, which was even rarer in these days, by Andrew Kirkaldy during the third nine.

1880 British Open Final Scores

Bob Ferguson 81-81—162
Peter Paxton 84-83—167
Ned Cosgrove 82-86—168
David Brown 86-83—169
George Paxton 85-84—169
Bob Pringle 90-79—169
Andrew Kirkaldy 85-85—170
Willie Brown 87-84—171
David Grant 87-84—171
Tom Morris Sr. 87-88—175
Tom Arundel 86-93—179
Thomas Brown 90-89—179
Willie Campbell 88-91—179
J. Foreman 92-87—179
Willie Park Sr. 89-92—181
Willie Park Jr. 92-90—182
David Corstorphine 93-90—183
George Strath 87-96—183
Ben Sayers 91-93—184
Mungo Park 95-92—187
A. Brown 97-92—189
Robert Drummond 96-94—190
William Thomson 96-94—190
James Beveridge 94-97—191

Previous and next:
1879 British Open - 1881 British Open

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List