McDonald's Championship, Former LPGA Tour Event

The McDonald's Championship was a golf tournament played on the LPGA Tour from the early 1980s to the mid-1990s. (Don't confuse this tournament with the McDonalds LPGA Championship. The LPGA Championship — now named the Women's PGA Championship — is one of the tour's majors, and McDonalds was the title sponsor of it for many years. The "McDonalds LPGA Championship" was a different tournament, however, than this one.) This tournament was played in the Greater Philadelphia area.

Beth Daniel, Patty Sheehan and Betsy King, all Hall of Famers, were each 2-time winners of the tournament. This tournament ended when McDonalds switched its sponsorship to the LPGA Championship event.

First played: 1981

Last played: 1993

Also known as: McDonald's Kids Classic, McDonald's Classic

1993 — Laura Davies
1992 — Ayako Okamoto
1991 — Beth Daniel
1990 — Patty Sheehan
1989 — Betsy King
1988 — Kathy Postlewait
1987 — Betsy King
1986 — Juli Inkster
1985 — Alice Miller
1984 — Patty Sheehan
1983 — Beth Daniel
1982 — JoAnne Carner
1981 — Sandra Post

Golf Courses: White Manor Country Club in Malvern, Pa., and DuPont Country Club in Wilmington, Del.

Popular posts from this blog

What Ever Happened to Danielle Amiee of 'The Big Break'?

The Vijay Singh Cheating Incident Explained