2001 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 2001 PGA Championship was the 83rd edition of the tournament. The winner earned his only major title here with a conservative, but smart, decision to lay up on the par-4 final hole.

Winner: David Toms, 265

Where it was played: Atlanta Athletic Club (Highlands Course) in Duluth, Georgia

Tournament dates: August 16-19, 2001

Leader after first round: Grant Waite, 64

Leader after second round: Shingo Katayama and David Toms, 131

Leader after third round: David Toms, 196

What Happened at the 2001 PGA Championship

David Toms eked out a one-stroke victory over Phil Mickelson at Atlanta Athletic Club in the 2001 PGA Championship, and the short-hitter did it his way: He laid up on the par-4 final hole, a cautious choice that paid off for him.

Toms shared the second-round lead at 131, took the third-round lead at 196, and wound up with the 2001 trophy at 265, a score of 15-under par. That aggregate total set a record in major championships at the time for lowest stroke total. And second-place Mickelson's 266 was, at the time, the second-lowest score in major championship history.

At the time, Mickelson had yet to win a major championship. This was his second runner-up finish in a major (he finally won his first at the 2004 Masters), and he eventually ranked second only to Jack Nicklaus in most runner-up finishes in majors.

Toms and Mickelson were paired in the final round, Toms closing with a 69 and Mickelson with a 68. Mickelson caught Toms a couple times over the final 18, the last tie coming after Mickelson chipped in from 45 feet on the 15th hole. But Mickelson was never able to take the lead, and he gave Toms the lead back by three-putting the 16th hole.

Leading by one on the final hole, Toms' drive found the rough and his ball settled 209 yards from the cup. Needing to carry water if he went for the green, Toms instead chose to lay up on the par-4. It was a controversial decision — but only until the hole (and tournament) was over. Because it worked out just as Toms planned: He pitched his third shot to within 12 feet from the cup, then sank that 12-footer for par. Mickelson need to make a 25-foot-birdie putt to force a playoff, but missed.

In the third round, Toms aced the 243-yard 15th hole, hitting a 5-wood off the tee. It was the longest-ever ace in any major championship to that point. Toms was also the first golfer in PGA Championship history to make a hole-in-one and then go on to win.

Lanny Wadkins, winner of the 1977 PGA Championship, missed the cut in what was his final appearance in any of the four professional majors.

2001 PGA Championship Final Scores

David Toms 66-65-65-69—265
Phil Mickelson 66-66-66-68—266
Steve Lowery 67-67-66-68—268
Mark Calcavecchia 71-68-66-65—270
Shingo Katayama 67-64-69-70—270
Billy Andrade 68-70-68-66—272
Scott Hoch 68-70-69-67—274
Scott Verplank 69-68-70-67—274
Jim Furyk 70-64-71-69—274
Kirk Triplett 68-70-71-66—275
Justin Leonard 70-69-67-69—275
David Duval 66-68-67-74—275
Steve Flesch 73-67-70-66—276
Jesper Parnevik 70-68-70-68—276
Ernie Els 67-67-70-72—276
Jose Coceres 69-68-73-67—277
Robert Allenby 69-67-73-68—277
Dudley Hart 66-68-73-70—277
Mike Weir 69-72-66-70—277
Chris DiMarco 68-67-71-71—277
Stuart Appleby 66-70-68-73—277
Briny Baird 70-69-72-67—278
Shigeki Maruyama 68-72-71-67—278
Paul McGinley 68-72-71-67—278
Brian Gay 70-68-69-71—278
Charles Howell III 71-67-69-71—278
Mark O'Meara 72-63-70-73—278
Paul Azinger 68-67-69-74—278
Carlos Franco 67-72-71-69—279
Greg Norman 70-68-71-70—279
Bob Tway 69-69-71-70—279
Nick Price 71-67-71-70—279
Tiger Woods 73-67-69-70—279
Chris Smith 69-71-68-71—279
Niclas Fasth 66-69-72-72—279
K.J. Choi 66-68-72-73—279
Andrew Coltart 67-72-71-70—280
Fred Couples 70-69-70-71—280
Jose Maria Olazabal 71-70-68-71—280
Angel Cabrera 69-69-70-72—280
Bob Estes 67-65-75-73—280
Retief Goosen 69-70-66-75—280
Davis Love 71-67-65-77—280
Andrew Oldcorn 73-67-74-67—281
Hal Sutton 67-71-73-70—281
Rick Schuller 68-70-72-71—281
Kenny Perry 68-70-71-72—281
Jerry Kelly 69-67-72-73—281
Lee Westwood 71-68-68-74—281
Greg Chalmers 68-70-69-74—281
Ian Woosnam 71-70-73-68—282
Tom Pernice Jr. 69-69-74-70—282
Chris Riley 68-71-73-70—282
Nick Faldo 67-74-71-70—282
Joe Durant 68-71-72-71—282
Frank Lickliter 71-69-71-71—282
Scott Dunlap 69-72-70-71—282
Vijay Singh 73-68-70-71—282
Phillip Price 68-69-76-70—283
Grant Waite 64-74-73-72—283
Stewart Cink 68-72-71-72—283
Brad Faxon 66-70-74-73—283
Jonathan Kaye 67-68-78-71—284
Skip Kendall 72-67-73-72—284
Thomas Bjorn 67-71-73-73—284
Tom Watson 69-70-76-70—285
Steve Stricker 75-65-75-70—285
Robert Damron 68-73-71-73—285
Rocco Mediate 71-65-73-76—285
Fred Funk 66-74-71-75—286
Scott McCarron 69-67-73-77—286
John Huston 67-68-75-77—287
Bob May 71-70-76-74—291
Paul Stankowski 67-71-76-79—293
Steve Pate 71-69-71-83—294

Previous and next:
2000 PGA Championship - 2002 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List