1955 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1955 PGA Championship was the 37th time this major was played.

Winner: Doug Ford

Where it was played: Meadowbrook Country Club in Northville Township, Michigan

Tournament dates: July 20-26, 1955

Notable notes: Doug Ford was the medalist in the stroke-play qualifier, then he defeated Cary Middlecoff, 4-and-3, in the championship match. ... Ford was the last of four golfers who both earned medalist honors and then went on to win the PGA Championship in its match play era. The other three were Walter Hagen (1926), Olin Dutra (1932), and Byron Nelson (1945). ... Before beating Middlecoff, Ford advanced past opponents George Fazio, Ted Kroll, Wally Ulrich, Fred Hawkins and Shelley Mayfield.

Late-Round Match Scores

Round of 16 (36 holes)
Don Fairfield def. Brien Charter, 2 and 1
Shelley Mayfield def. Claude Harmon, 2 and 1
Fred Hawkins def, Ed Furgol, 6 and 5
Doug Ford def. Wally Ulrich, 12 and 10
Lew Worsham def. Johnny Palmer, 6 and 5
Tommy Bolt def. Jack Fleck, 3 and 1
Cary Middlecoff def. Mike Pavella, 8 and 6
Jack Burke Jr. def. Marty Furgol, 2 and 1

Quarterfinals (36 holes)
Doug Ford def. Fred Hawkins, 5 and 4
Shelley Mayfield def. Don Fairfield, 3 and 2
Tommy Bolt def. Lew Worsham, 8 and 7
Cary Middlecoff def. Jack Burke Jr., 1-up (40 holes)

Semifinals (36 holes)
Doug Ford def. Shelley Mayfield, 4 and 3
Cary Middlecoff def. Tommy Bolt, 4 and 3

Championship Match (36 holes)
Doug Ford def. Cary Middlecoff 4 and 3

Popular posts from this blog

What Ever Happened to Danielle Amiee of 'The Big Break'?