1928 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1928 PGA Championship was the 11th time this major was played.

Winner: Leo Diegel

Where it was played: Baltimore Country Club (Five Farms East course) in Lutherville, Maryland

Tournament dates: Oct. 1-6, 1928

Notable notes: Leo Diegel defeated Al Epinosa in the championship match by a 6-and-5 final score. ... Diegel knocked off Walter Hagen, who had won 22 consecutive PGA matches and four consecutive PGA Championships, in the quarterfinals. Then he beat Gene Sarazen in the semifinals. Hagen and Sarazen together had won the previous seven PGAs. ... This was Diegel's first major championship win; he repeated as champ in 1929.

Late-Round Match Scores

Round of 16 (36 holes)
Horton Smith def. Willie Macfarlane, 1-up
Perry Del Vecchio def. Glen Spencer, 1-up (37 holes)
Al Espinosa def. Bob MacDonald, 1-up (37 holes)
Jock Hutchison def. Pat Doyle, 1-up
Gene Sarazen def. Jim Barnes, 3 and 2
Ed Dudley def. Al Watrous, 3 and 2
Leo Diegel def. George Christ, 6 and 4
Walter Hagen def. Julian Blanton, 2-up

Quarterfinals (36 holes)
Horton Smith def. Perry Del Vecchio, 2-up
Al Espinosa def. Jock Hutchison, 5 and 4
Gene Sarazen def. Ed Dudley, 7 and 6
Leo Diegel def. Walter Hagen, 2 and 1

Semifinals (36 holes)
Al Espinosa def. Horton Smith, 6 and 5
Leo Diegel def. Gene Sarazen, 9 and 8

Championship Match (36 holes)
Leo Diegel def. Al Espinosa, 6 and 5

Popular posts from this blog