1938 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1938 PGA Championship was the 21st time this major was played.

Winner: Paul Runyan

Where it was played: Shawnee Country Club in Smithfield Township, Pennsylvania

Tournament dates: July 10-16, 1938

Notable notes: Paul Runyan defeated Sam Snead in the championship match by an 8-and-7 score. It was the largest winning margin in the tournament's match play era. ... Snead eventually won this major three times, but in this final match he won only one of 29 holes played vs. Runyan. ... Runyan also won the 1934 PGA, and this was his 27th career PGA Tour win. ... Runyan reached the final with wins over Levi Lynch, Tony Manero, Ray Mangrum, Horton Smith and Henry Picard. ... Defending champ Denny Shute, trying to win his third PGA Championship in a row, lost in the Round of 16.

Late-Round Match Scores

Round of 16 (36 holes)
Jimmy Hines def. Denny Shute, 2 and 1
Byron Nelson def. Harry Bassler, 11 and 10
Jim Foulis def. Marvin Stahl, 6 and 5
Sam Snead def. Felix Serafin, 4 and 3
Horton Smith def. Billy Burke, 3 and 2
Paul Runyan def. Ray Mangrum, 1-up (37 holes)
Gene Sarazen def. Jimmy Demaret, 1-up (38 holes)
Henry Picard def. Dick Metz, 4 and 3

Quarterfinals (36 holes)
Paul Runyan def. Horton Smith, 4 and 3
Henry Picard def. Gene Sarazen, 3 and 2
Sam Snead def. Jim Foulis, 8 and 7
Jimmy Hines def. Byron Nelson, 2 and 1

Semifinals (36 holes)
Paul Runyan def. Henry Picard, 4 and 3
Sam Snead def. Jimmy Hines, 1-up

Championship Match (36 holes)
Paul Runyan def. Sam Snead, 8 and 7

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List