1925 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1925 PGA Championship was the eighth time this major was played.

Winner: Walter Hagen

Where it was played: Olympia Fields Country Club in Olympia Fields, Illinois

Tournament dates: Sept. 21-26, 1925

Notable notes: Walter Hagen defeated Bill Mehlhorn in the championship match by a final score of 6-and-5. It was Hagen's second consecutive PGA Championship victory and his third overall. ... Hagen needed extra holes in two earlier matches: Al Watrous took him to 39 holes in the first round, Leo Diegel to 40 holes in the quarterfinals. Hagen came from 5-down after the morning 18 to beat Diegel. ... Mehlhorn eventually won 20 PGA Tour titles, but never won a major.

Late-Round Match Scores

Round of 16 (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Mike Brady, 7 and 6
Leo Diegel def. Bobby Cruickshank, 2 and 1
Harry Cooper def. Jack Burke Sr., 2 and 1
Johnny Farrell def. Ray Derr, 1-up (37 holes)
Bill Mehlhorn def. Al Espinosa, 1-up
Tom Kerrigan def. Dan Williams, 2-up
Mortie Dutra def. Ed Dudley, 6 and 5
Tommy Armour def. Johnny Golden, 6 and 5

Quarterfinals (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Leo Diegel, 1-up (40 holes)
Harry Cooper def. Johnny Farrell, 2 and 1
Bill Mehlhorn def. Tom Kerrigan, 7 and 6
Mortie Dutra def. Tommy Armour, 2-up

Semifinals (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Harry Cooper, 3 and 1
Bill Mehlhorn def. Mortie Dutra, 8 and 6

Championship Match (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Bill Mehlhorn, 6 and 5

Popular posts from this blog