1927 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1927 PGA Championship was the 10th time this major was played, but the fourth consecutive time it was won by "The Haig."

Winner: Walter Hagen

Where it was played: Cedar Crest Country Club in Dallas, Texas

Tournament dates: Oct. 31-Nov. 5, 1927

Notable notes: Walter Hagen was medalist in the stroke-play qualifier, then marched through the match play bracket to his fourth consecutive PGA Championship win and fifth overall. Hagen's match play record in the PGA to this point in the 1920s was 30 wins, 1 loss. ... In the championship match, Hagen defeated Joe Turnesa by a 1-up final score. Turnesa led 3-up after 19 holes, but by the 29th hole Hagen had squared the match. He went 1-up on the 31st hole and held on from there. ... It was also Hagen's final PGA Championship trophy. This was the ninth of his 11 career wins in majors.

Late-Round Match Scores

Round of 16 (36 holes)
Tommy Armour def. Tom Harmon Jr., 7 and 6
Walter Hagen def. Tony Manero, 11 and 10
Mortie Dutra def. Charles Guest, 2-up
Al Espinosa def. Harry Cooper, 5 and 4
Gene Sarazen def. Ed Dudley, 4 and 3
Joe Turnesa def. Willie Klein, 1-up
Johnny Golden def. Harold Long, 1-up (37 holes)
Francis Gallett def. Ralph Bench, 2-up

Quarterfinals (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Tommy Armour, 4 and 3
Al Espinosa def. Mortie Dutra, 1-up
Joe Turnesa def. Gene Sarazen, 4 and 2
Johnny Golden def. Francis Gallet, 3 and 2

Semifinals (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Al Espinosa, 1-up
Joe Turnesa def. Johnny Golden, 7 and 6

Championship Match (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Joe Turnesa, 1-up

Popular posts from this blog