1921 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1921 PGA Championship was the fourth time this major was played, and the first win for a golfer who eventually claimed the trophy five times.

Winner: Walter Hagen

Where it was played: Inwood Country Club in Inwood, New York

Tournament dates: Sept. 27-Oct. 1, 1921

Notable notes: Walter Hagen defeated Jim Barnes in the championship match by a final score of 3-and-2. It was Hagen's third major victory but the first of his eventual five wins in the PGA. ... Barnes had won the first two PGA Championships played, in 1916 and 1919, and the 1921 U.S. Open earlier in the year. ... To reach the championship match, Hagen defeated Jack Forrester, Tom Boyd, Johnny Golden and Cyril Walker.

Late-Round Match Scores

Round of 16 (36 holes)
Fred McLeod def. Jack Gordon, 4 and 2
Jim Barnes def. Bobby Cruickshank, 8 and 7
George McLean def. James West, 8 and 7
Emmet French def. Charles Clarke, 8 and 7
Cyril Walker def. Charles Mathersele, 4 and 2
Gene Sarazen def. Jock Hutchison, 8 and 7
Walter Hagen def. Tom Boyd, 6 and 5
Johnny Golden def. Laurie Ayton, 1-up

Quarterfinals (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Johnny Golden, 8 and 7
Cyril Walker def. Gene Sarazen, 5 and 4
Jim Barnes def. Fred McLeod, 11 and 9
Emmet French def. George McLean, 5 and 3

Semifinals (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Cyril Walker, 5 and 4
Jim Barnes def. Emmet French, 5 and 4

Championship Match (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Jim Barnes, 3 and 2

Popular posts from this blog