1924 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1924 PGA Championship was the seventh time this major was played.

Winner: Walter Hagen

Where it was played: French Lick Springs Golf Club in French Lick, Indiana

Tournament dates: Sept. 15-20, 1924

Notable notes: Walter Hagen defeated Jim Barnes by a final score of 2-up in the championship match. It was Hagen's second PGA Championship win and began a streak of four consecutive wins in this tournament for "The Haig." ... It was Hagen's sixth win in major championships; he eventually won 11 major titles. ... Hagen had a 4-up lead over Barnes following the morning 18. Hagen was 2-up with two holes to play, but Barnes won the 35th. But Barnes hit a shank on the final hole, Hagen won the hole and the trophy. ... Hagen also beat Barnes in the 1921 PGA final.

Late-Round Match Scores

Round of 16 (36 holes)
Johnny Farrell def. Willie Macfarlane, 2 and 1
Walter Hagen def. Al Watrous, 4 and 3
Al Espinosa def. Francis Gallett, 4 and 3
Ray Derr def. Bobby Cruickshank, 2 and 1
Henry Ciuci def. Dan Williams, 4 and 3
Larry Nabholtz def. Gene Sarazen, 2 and 1
Emmet French def. Mortie Dutra, 3 and 1
Jim Barnes def. Eddie Towns, 10 and 9

Quarterfinals (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Johnny Farrell, 3 and 2
Ray Derr def. Al Espinosa, 2 and 1
Jim Barnes def. Emmet French, 6 and 4
Larry Nabholtz def. Henry Ciuci, 5 and 4

Semifinals (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Ray Derr, 8 and 7
Jim Barnes def. Larry Nabholtz, 1-up

Championship Match (36 holes)
Walter Hagen def. Jim Barnes, 2-up

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List