Lady Michelob / Lady Tara Classic, LPGA Tournament

This tournament is best-remembered as either the Lady Michelob or the Lady Tara Classic, two of several names by which it was known over the course of its 16-year history on the LPGA Tour. It was always played in the Atlanta, Ga., area, first in the late 1960s and last in the mid-1980s.

First played: 1968

Last played: 1984

In the 1982 Lady Michelob, Joan Joyce set the LPGA Tour's all-time record for fewest putts in a round with just 17. (That is still recognized by the Guinness Book of World Records today as the fewest putts needed in any round on a significant pro golf tour.) In the very same tournament, Kathy Whitworth recorded her 83rd career LPGA win, becoming the LPGA's all-time leader in wins.

Whitworth and Jane Blalock were the only golfers to win more than once. Whitworth's two wins were separated by 13 years; Blalock won back-to-back in 1970-71. Blalock's 1970 victory was the first of her 27-win LPGA career, and Hollis Stacy's win in 1977 was the first of her Hall-of-Fame career.

At the 1968 tournament, Carol Mann scored 132 after 36 holes, and her winning total was 200. At the time, that was the all-time LPGA record for lowest 36-hole total, and tied the tour's record for 54-hole winning total.

Also known as: Potamkin Cadillac Classic (1984), Natural Light Lady Tara Classic (1978), Lady Pepsi Open (1971-72) and Lady Carling Open (1968-70). It was called the Lady Michelob from 1979-83, and the Lady Tara Classic from 1973-77.

Winners of the Lady Michelob / Lady Tara Classic

1984 — Sharon Barrett
1983 — Janet Coles
1982 — Kathy Whitworth
1981 — Amy Alcott
1980 — Pam Higgins
1979 — Sandra Post
1978 — Janet Coles
1977 — Hollis Stacy
1976 — JoAnne Carner
1975 — Donna Caponi
1974 — Sandra Spuzich
1973 — Mary Mills
1972 — Jan Ferraris
1971 — Jane Blalock
1970 — Jane Blalock
1969 — Kathy Whitworth
1968 — Carol Mann

Golf courses: As noted at the top, the tournament was always played in the Atlanta area. When it began in 1968, the host course was Canongate Country Club in Sharpsburg, Ga. In 1970, it moved to Indian Hills Country Club in Marietta. From 1977 until the event ended, it was played at Brookfield West Golf & Country Club in Roswell, Ga.

Popular posts from this blog