Player of the Year Award Winners on the PGA Tour

The Player of the Year award for golfers on the PGA Tour is actually handed out twice, by two different organizations: the PGA Tour itself, plus the PGA of America.

The PGA of America's Player of the Year award is based on a points system, and has been around since 1948. The PGA Tour's Player of the Year award was introduced in 1990, and is based on a vote by the players themselves. Because the PGA of America's award is much older, for many years — even after the PGA Tour's own award came along — the PGA's was considered more prestigious. That is no longer the case, with most attention being giving to the PGA Tour's version of award.

Having said that, it rarely matters whether one is considered more prestigious than the other, since the two awards have gone to the same winner in every year from 1992 forward.

Here are the PGA Tour golfers who have won Player of the Year awards:

Year PGA (Points) PGA Tour (Vote)
2023 Scottie Scheffler
2022 Cameron Smith Scottie Scheffler
2021 Jon Rahm Patrick Cantlay
2020 Justin Thomas Dustin Johnson
2019 Brooks Koepka Rory McIlroy
2018 Brooks Koepka Brooks Koepka
2017 Justin Thomas Justin Thomas
2016 Dustin Johnson Dustin Johnson
2015 Jordan Spieth Jordan Spieth
2014 Rory McIlroy Rory McIlroy
2013 Tiger Woods Tiger Woods
2012 Rory McIlroy Rory McIlroy
2011 Luke Donald Luke Donald
2010 Jim Furyk Jim Furyk
2009 Tiger Woods Tiger Woods
2008 Padraig Harrington Padraig Harrington
2007 Tiger Woods Tiger Woods
2006 Tiger Woods Tiger Woods
2005 Tiger Woods Tiger Woods
2004 Vijay Singh Vijay Singh
2003 Tiger Woods Tiger Woods
2002 Tiger Woods Tiger Woods
2001 Tiger Woods Tiger Woods
2000 Tiger Woods Tiger Woods
1999 Tiger Woods Tiger Woods
1998 Mark O'Meara Mark O'Meara
1997 Tiger Woods Tiger Woods
1996 Tom Lehman Tom Lehman
1995 Greg Norman Greg Norman
1994 Nick Price Nick Price
1993 Nick Price Nick Price
1992 Fred Couples Fred Couples
1991 Corey Pavin Fred Couples
1990 Nick Faldo Wayne Levi
1989 Tom Kite  
1988 Curtis Strange  
1987 Paul Azinger  
1986 Bob Tway  
1985 Lanny Wadkins  
1984 Tom Watson  
1983 Hal Sutton  
1982 Tom Watson  
1981 Bill Rogers  
1980 Tom Watson  
1979 Tom Watson  
1978 Tom Watson  
1977 Tom Watson  
1976 Jack Nicklaus  
1975 Jack Nicklaus  
1974 Johnny Miller  
1973 Jack Nicklaus  
1972 Jack Nicklaus  
1971 Lee Trevino  
1970 Billy Casper  
1969 Orville Moody  
1968 No award  
1967 Jack Nicklaus  
1966 Billy Casper  
1965 Dave Marr  
1964 Ken Venturi  
1963 Julius Boros  
1962 Arnold Palmer  
1961 Jerry Barber  
1960 Arnold Palmer  
1959 Art Wall  
1958 Dow Finsterwald  
1957 Dick Mayer  
1956 Jack Burke Jr.  
1955 Doug Ford  
1954 Ed Furgol  
1953 Ben Hogan  
1952 Julius Boros  
1951 Ben Hogan  
1950 Ben Hogan  
1949 Sam Snead  
1948 Ben Hogan  

On thing that jumps out in the side-by-side years above is that in only three years did the PGA Tour and PGA of America awards go to different golfers: the first two years of the PGA Tour award's existence, 1990 and 1991, plus 2019.

Golfers with the Most Player of the Year Awards

No surprise that Tiger Woods holds the all-time record for most Player of the Year awards won by a PGA Tour golfer:

  • Tiger Woods — 11
  • Tom Watson — 6
  • Jack Nicklaus — 5
  • Ben Hogan — 4

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List