1993 PGA Championship Winner and Scores

The 1993 PGA Championship was the 75th time the tournament was played. It was the winner's only major trophy, and Paul Azinger got that trophy via a playoff. For that playoff loser, this was the fourth of the four majors at which he lost in extra holes.

Winner: Paul Azinger, 272

Where it was played: Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio

Tournament dates: August 12-15, 1993

Leader after first round: Scott Simpson, 64

Leader after second round: Vijay Singh, 131

Leader after third round: Greg Norman, 203

What Happened in the 1993 PGA Championship

The winner of the 75th anniversary PGA Championship tournament was Paul Azinger in a playoff over Greg Norman. Norman was the third-round leader, with Azinger one stroke behind him. But Azinger made four birdies over the final seven holes of the final round to catch Norman, then beat him in the sudden-death playoff with a par on the second extra hole.

This was Azinger's 11th career win on the PGA Tour. But at the end of the year, he was diagnosed with cancer. Although he returned to the tour and in 2000 even won another tournament, his victory here proved to be Azinger's only major championship win.

For Norman, losing in extra holes at a major championship had a familiar ring to it — it had already happened to him at each of the other three majors. Although Norman also won two majors, he lost an 18-hole playoff at the 1984 U.S. Open, a sudden-death playoff at the 1987 Masters and a 4-hole aggregate playoff at the 1989 British Open. When Azinger beat him in sudden death in the 1993 PGA Championship playoff, Norman joined Craig Wood as the only golfers to lose in extra holes at all four professional majors.

Norman lost three strokes on Holes 6 and 7 in the final round, with a double bogey on the sixth and bogey on the seventh. He birdied the eighth hole and had three birdies on the back nine, so he righted the ship to shoot 69. But Azinger birdied holes 12, 13 and 14, plus the 17th, while shooting a course-record 30 on the back nine. Azinger's 68 gave him a final score of 12-under 272. The playoff ended when Norman three-putted from 20 feet on the second extra hole.

Tom Watson was one stroke off Norman's 54-hole lead, and finished in fifth place. The PGA Championship is the only major Watson never won, and he didn't get this close again. Hubert Green, 1985 PGA Championship winner, tied for 51st place; it was the last time he made the cut in a major.

1993 PGA Championship Final Scores

Paul Azinger 69-66-69-68—272
Greg Norman 68-68-67-69—272
Nick Faldo 68-68-69-68—273
Vijay Singh 68-63-73-70—274
Tom Watson 69-65-70-72—276
John Cook 72-66-68-71—277
Bob Estes 69-66-69-73—277
Dudley Hart 66-68-71-72—277
Nolan Henke 72-70-67-68—277
Scott Hoch 74-68-68-67—277
Hale Irwin 68-69-67-73—277
Phil Mickelson 67-71-69-70—277
Scott Simpson 64-70-71-72—277
Steve Elkington 67-66-74-71—278
Brad Faxon 70-70-65-73—278
Bruce Fleisher 69-74-67-68—278
Gary Hallberg 70-69-68-71—278
Lanny Wadkins 65-68-71-74—278
Richard Zokol 66-71-71-70—278
Jay Haas 69-68-70-72—279
Eduardo Romero 67-67-74-71—279
Lee Janzen 70-68-71-72—281
Jim McGovern 71-67-69-74—281
Frank Nobilo 69-66-74-72—281
Gene Sauers 68-74-70-69—281
Greg Twiggs 70-69-70-72—281
Ian Woosnam 70-71-68-72—281
Peter Jacobsen 71-67-74-70—282
Billy Mayfair 68-73-70-71—282
Loren Roberts 67-67-76-72—282
Fulton Allem 70-71-70-72—283
Mark Calcavecchia 68-70-77-68—283
Fred Couples 70-68-71-74—283
Mike Hulbert 67-72-72-72—283
Stu Ingraham 74-69-71-69—283
Wayne Levi 69-73-66-75—283
Davis Love III 70-72-72-69—283
Mark McCumber 67-72-75-69—283
Craig Parry 70-73-68-72—283
Nick Price 74-66-72-71—283
Hal Sutton 69-72-70-72—283
Tom Wargo 71-70-71-71—283
Fuzzy Zoeller 72-70-71-70—283
Russ Cochran 69-74-70-71—284
Dan Forsman 67-75-70-72—284
Fred Funk 72-66-76-70—284
John Huston 68-69-75-72—284
Joe Ozaki 73-68-66-77—284
Payne Stewart 71-70-70-73—284
D.A. Weibring 68-74-72-70—284
John Daly 71-68-73-73—285
Hubert Green 70-71-69-75—285
Andrew Magee 71-72-74-68—285
Jeff Maggert 72-69-71-73—285
Peter Senior 69-70-70-76—285
Rick Fehr 70-71-72-73—286
Tom Kite 73-69-71-73—286
Sandy Lyle 69-73-70-74—286
Larry Nelson 73-67-74-72—286
Jose Maria Olazabal 73-69-73-71—286
Michael Allen 73-70-75-69—287
Ben Crenshaw 70-70-73-74—287
Donnie Hammond 73-70-68-76—287
Jeff Sluman 74-69-72-72—287
Mike Standly 72-71-68-76—287
Ian Baker-Finch 73-69-70-76—288
Mark Wiebe 74-69-73-73—289
Bob Ford 70-71-78-71—290
Rocco Mediate 70-73-74-73—290
Steve Pate 73-70-72-77—292
Kevin Burton 69-73-76-76—294
Barry Lane 67-74-77-76—294
Bob Borowicz 72-71-80-72—295
John Adams 72-70-76-78—296

Previous and next:
1992 PGA Championship - 1994 PGA Championship

Popular posts from this blog