1995 British Open Golf Tournament Winner and Scores

The 1995 British Open was the 124th time the tournament was played, and it was won by John Daly in a playoff.

Winner: John Daly, 282

Where it was played: The Old Course at St. Andrews, Scotland

Tournament dates: July 20-23, 1995

Leader after first round: John Daly, Mark McNulty, Ben Crenshaw and Tom Watson, 67

Leader after second round: John Daly, Brad Faxon and Kasuyoshi Tomori, 138

Leader after third round: Michael Campbell, 207

Notable Notes: John Daly shared the lead the first two rounds, but a third-round 72 dropped him four strokes off the lead of Michael Campbell, and two behind second-place Constantino Rocca. In the final round, Campbell shot 76 and fell into a tie for second, while Daly and Rocca wound up tied at 282.

Daly appeared to have won it on the 72nd hole when Rocca, who needed a birdie to tie, badly flubbed a chip shot to the green. But then Rocca improbably rolled in a 75-foot putt through The Old Course's "Valley of Sin," forcing the playoff. In the 4-hole, aggregate-score playoff, Daly was two ahead through two holes when Rocca triple-bogeyed the third hole. This is how the playoff went:

John Daly, 4-3-4-4—15
Constantino Rocca, 5-4-7-3—19

Tiger Woods made his first cut in a major championship here. Playing as an amateur, he tied for 68th with scores of 74-71-72-78. As one legend was entering the scene, another exited. Arnold Palmer, winner of The Open in 1961 and 1962, played the Open Championship for the final time. Palmer missed the cut with scores of 83 and 75. Three-time Open Championship winner Gary Player made the cut for the final time in this major and tied for 68th along with Woods.

1995 British Open Final Scores

p-John Daly 67-71-73-71—282
Costantino Rocca 69-70-70-73—282
Steven Bottomley 70-72-72-69—283
Mark Brooks 70-69-73-71—283
Michael Campbell 71-71-65-76—283
Vijay Singh 68-72-73-71—284
Steve Elkington 72-69-69-74—284
Corey Pavin 69-70-72-74—285
Mark James 72-75-68-70—285
Bob Estes 72-70-71-72—285
Ernie Els 71-68-72-75—286
Brett Ogle 73-69-71-73—286
Sam Torrance 71-70-71-74—286
Payne Stewart 72-68-75-71—286
Ben Crenshaw 67-72-76-72—287
Brad Faxon 71-67-75-74—287
Greg Norman 71-74-72-70—287
Robert Allenby 71-74-71-71—287
Per-Ulrik Johansson 69-78-68-72—287
Peter Mitchell 73-74-71-70—288
David Duval 71-75-70-72—288
Andrew Coltart 70-74-71-73—288
Barry Lane 72-73-68-75—288
Katsuyoshi Tomori 70-68-73-78—289
Bill Glasson 68-74-72-75—289
Jesper Parnevik 75-71-70-73—289
Bernhard Langer 72-71-73-73—289
a-Steve Webster 70-72-74-73—289
Mark Calcavecchia 71-72-72-74—289
Lee Janzen 73-73-71-72—289
Hisayuki Sasaki 74-71-72-73—290
Darren Clark 69-77-70-74—290
John Huston 71-74-72-73—290
David Feherty 68-75-71-76—290
David Frost 72-72-74-72—290
Ross Drummond 74-68-77-71—290
Jose Maria Olazabal 72-72-74-72—290
Peter Jacobsen 71-76-70-73—290
Tom Watson 67-76-70-77—290
a-Warren Bennett 72-74-73-72—291
Gordon Sherry 70-71-74-76—291
Mark McNulty 67-76-74-74—291
Nick Price 70-74-70-77—291
Nick Faldo 74-67-75-75—291
Seve Ballesteros 75-69-76-71—291
Phil Mickelson 70-71-77-73—291
Brian Watts 72-71-73-75—291
John Cook 69-70-75-77—291
Ken Green 71-72-73-76—292
Tommy Nakajima 73-72-72-75—292
Brian Claar 71-75-71-75—292
Anders Forsbrand 70-74-75-73—292
Mark O'Meara 72-72-75-73—292
Ian Woosnam 71-74-76-71—292
Russell Claydon 70-74-71-78—293
Peter O'Malley 71-73-74-75—293
Jim Gallagher Jr. 69-76-75-73—293
Paul Lawrie 73-71-74-76—294
Martin Gates 73-73-72-76—294
Eduardo Herrera 74-72-73-75—294
Raymond Floyd 72-74-72-76—294
Paul Broadhurst 73-72-76-73—294
Justin Leonard 73-67-77-77—294
David Gilford 69-72-75-78—294
Derrick Cooper 71-76-74-73—294
Tom Kite 72-76-71-75—294
Peter Senior 71-75-78-70—294
Jose Rivero 70-72-75-78—295
Gary Player 71-73-77-74—295
Gary Hallberg 72-74-72-77—295
a-Tiger Woods 74-71-72-78—295
Mats Hallberg 68-76-75-76—295
Peter Baker 70-74-81-70—295
Frank Nobilo 70-71-80-74—295
Scott Hoch 74-72-73-76—295
Jonathan Lomas 74-73-75-73—295
Olle Karlsson 71-76-73-75—295
Jeff Maggert 75-70-78-72—295
Dean Robertson 71-73-74-78—296
Ricky Kawagishi 72-76-80-68—296
Jarmo Sandelin 75-71-77-73—296
Steve Lowery 69-74-76-77—296
Bob Lohr 76-68-79-73—296
Jay Haas 76-72-70-78—296
Patrick Burke 75-72-78-71—296
Jack Nicklaus 78-70-77-71—296
Sandy Lyle 71-71-79-75—296
Eduardo Romero 74-74-72-77—297
Wayne Riley 70-72-75-80—297
Mark Davis 74-71-76-76—297
Jay Delsing 72-75-73-77—297
Miguel Angel Jimenez 75-73-76-73—297
Gene Sauers 69-73-75-80—297
John Hawksworth 73-74-75-76—298
Bill Longmuir 72-76-72-78—298
Jose Coceres 71-76-78-74—299
Lee Westwood 71-72-82-74—299
Davis Love III 70-78-74-78—300
Simon Burnell 72-76-75-77—300
a-Gary Clarke 71-76-80-74—301
Don Pooley 76-71-80-75—302
Mark Nichols 75-68-78-81—302
Pedro Linhart 72-75-77-79—303

Previous and next:
1994 British Open - 1996 British Open

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List