1996 British Open Golf Tournament Winner and Scores

The 1996 British Open was the 125th time the tournament was played. The winner was a first-time major champion who'd had multiple near-misses in majors in the previous half-dozen years.

Winner: Tom Lehman, 271

Where it was played: Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club, Lytham St. Annes, England

Tournament dates: July 18-21, 1996

Leader after first round: Paul Broadhurst, 65

Leader after second round: Tom Lehman and Paul McGinley, 134

Leader after third round: Tom Lehman, 198

What Happened in the 1996 Open Championship

Tom Lehman was one of the most consistent PGA Tour golfers of the mid-1990s, seemingly always in contention in the top tournaments. During one stretch, he played in the final pairing of the U.S. Open four consecutive years, but without winning any of them. To this point he had finished third and second in The Masters in 1993 and 1994; and third and second in the U.S. Open in 1995 and 1996.

Lehman's major championship frustration came to an end in the 1996 British Open at Royal Lytham & St. Annes, the course where Bobby Jones won in 1926 in the first Open Championship played at this venue. It proved to be his only win in a major, though, and was the third of his five career PGA Tour wins.

Lehman opened 67-67, then scorched the course for a third-round 64, opening a six-stroke lead over the field. And that margin served him well when he produced a pedestrian 73 in the final round. Ernie Els and Mark McCumber mounted charges, shooting 67 and 66 respectively, but finished tied for second two strokes behind.

In his second British Open appearance, 20-year-old amateur Tiger Woods finished tied for 22nd place. Woods earned low amateur honors; in fact, he was the only amateur to make the cut. At the other end of the spectrum, 56-year-old Jack Nicklaus was one stroke off the lead after opening 69-66. But Nicklaus couldn't sustain that play and finished 45th.

1996 British Open Final Scores

Tom Lehman 67-67-64-73—271
Mark McCumber 67-69-71-66—273
Ernie Els 68-67-71-67—273
Nick Faldo 68-68-68-70—274
Jeff Maggert 69-70-72-65—276
Mark Brooks 67-70-68-71—276
Peter Hedblom 70-65-75-67—277
Fred Couples 67-70-69-71—277
Greg Norman 71-68-71-67—277
Greg Turner 72-69-68-68—277
Alexander Cejka 73-67-71-67—278
Darren Clarke 70-68-69-71—278
Vijay Singh 69-67-69-73—278
Mark McNulty 69-71-70-69—279
David Duval 76-67-66-70—279
Paul McGinley 69-65-74-71—279
Shigeki Maruyama 68-70-69-72—279
Michael Welch 71-68-73-68—280
Padraig Harrington 68-68-73-71—280
Loren Roberts 67-69-72-72—280
Rocco Mediate 69-70-69-72—280
Mark James 70-68-75-68—281
Jay Haas 70-72-71-68—281
a-Tiger Woods 75-66-70-70—281
Steve Stricker 71-70-66-74—281
Carl Mason 68-70-70-73—281
Ben Crenshaw 73-68-71-70—282
Tom Kite 77-66-69-70—282
Paul Broadhurst 65-72-74-71—282
Corey Pavin 70-66-74-72—282
Peter Mitchell 71-68-71-72—282
Frank Nobilo 70-72-68-72—282
Eduardo Romero 70-71-75-67—283
Tommy Tolles 73-70-71-69—283
Scott Simpson 71-69-73-70—283
Eamon Darcy 73-69-71-70—283
David Gilford 71-67-71-74—283
Mark O'Meara 67-69-72-75—283
Hidemichi Tanaka 67-71-70-75—283
Brad Faxon 67-73-68-75—283
Mark Calcavecchia 72-68-76-68—284
Phil Mickelson 72-71-72-69—284
Klaus Eriksson 68-75-72-69—284
David Frost 70-72-71-71—284
Peter Jacobsen 72-70-74-69—285
Billy Mayfair 70-72-74-69—285
Craig Stadler 71-71-75-68—285
Todd Hamilton 71-70-74-70—285
Bradley Hughes 70-69-75-71—285
Payne Stewart 70-73-71-71—285
Richard Boxall 72-70-71-72—285
Jack Nicklaus 69-66-77-73—285
Nick Price 68-73-71-73—285
Jim Furyk 68-71-72-74—285
Jesper Parnevik 72-69-69-75—285
Jim Payne 72-71-73-70—286
Sandy Lyle 71-69-73-73—286
Robert Allenby 74-68-71-73—286
Stephen Ames 71-72-69-74—286
Michael Jonzon 69-73-73-72—287
D.A. Weibring 71-72-72-72—287
Jeff Sluman 72-70-70-75—287
Brian Barnes 73-70-69-75—287
Carl Suneson 73-69-74-72—288
Costantino Rocca 71-70-74-73—288
Gordon Law 74-69-71-74—288
David A. Russell 70-72-74-73—289
Brett Ogle 70-73-73-73—289
John Daly 70-73-69-77—289
Howard Clark 72-71-76-71—290
Bob Charles 71-72-71-77—291
Domingo Hospital 75-68-77-72—292
Rick Todd 74-69-73-76—292
Curtis Strange 71-72-72-77—292
Roger Chapman 72-70-70-80—292
Retief Goosen 72-71-74-76—293
Arnaud Langenaeken 72-71-77-78—298

Previous and next:
1995 British Open - 1997 British Open

Popular posts from this blog