1995 Masters Tournament Winner and Scores

One day before teeing off the 1995 Masters — the 59th Masters played — Ben Crenshaw served as a pallbearer at the funeral of his friend, instructor and mentor, Harvey Penick. But Crenshaw held himself together long enough for a 1-stroke victory over Davis Love III. Then he collapsed in tears on the final green.

Winner: Ben Crenshaw, 274

Where it was played: Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, Georgia

Tournament dates: April 6-9, 1995

Leader after first round: Jose Maria Olazabal, David Frost and Phil Mickelson, 66

Leader after second round: Jay Haas, 135

Leader after third round: Ben Crenshaw and Brian Henninger, 206

What Happened at the 1995 Masters

The 1995 Masters was one full of emotion for Ben Crenshaw, and one full of emotion for many fans of Crenshaw. Just a few days before Crenshaw arrived at Augusta National for the start of the tournament, his longtime friend and mentor, the legendary golf instructor Harvey Penick, died. Crenshaw served as a pallbearer at Penick's funeral the day before the tournament began. The devastating loss, combined with Crenshaw's own lackluster play in the PGA Tour season leading up to The Masters, led many to count him out before this Masters even started.

But Crenshaw's caddie, Carl Jackson, gave him a tip — to move the ball back a little bit in his stance — and suddenly his game started clicking. And Crenshaw's confidence was back. Crenshaw also got quite a few lucky bounces and breaks during the week, as any tournament winner needs. Given the circumstances — playing just days after Penick's death — Ben and his wife Julie referred to these various bits of good fortune as "Harvey bounces."

Crenshaw entered the 1995 Masters ranked 69th in putting on the PGA Tour, but throughout the week putted like the Crenshaw of old, rather than like an old Crenshaw. The tip from his caddie, his restored confidence, his golden putting, those "Harvey bounces" — whatever the reason, everything clicked for Crenshaw, and he wound up with his second Masters championship.

When the final putt sank, Crenshaw collapsed in tears on the green, consoled by his caddie, as the emotion of the past week poured out of him. It was a scene that brought tears to the eyes of many of those watching at Augusta National and on television that day.

Crenshaw, who also won the 1984 Masters, shot 69-68 in the final two rounds to finish at 14-under 274. That was one stroke better than Love, who closed with a 66. Brian Henninger began the final round tied for the lead with Crenshaw, but shot 76 and finished tied for 10th place. Crenshaw birdied the 13th, 16th and 17th holes down the stretch.

The 1995 Masters was also notable as the first major championship played by Tiger Woods, who got into the event as the reigning U.S. Amateur champion. Nineteen years old and in his freshman year at Stanford University, Woods made the cut (his first cut made on the PGA Tour) and finished tied for 41st. He earned low amateur honors and led the field in driving distance.

1995 Masters Final Scores

Ben Crenshaw 70-67-69-68—274
Davis Love III 69-69-71-66—275
Jay Haas 71-64-72-70—277
Greg Norman 73-68-68-68—277
Steve Elkington 73-67-67-72—279
David Frost 66-71-71-71—279
Scott Hoch 69-67-71-73—280
Phil Mickelson 66-71-70-73—280
Curtis Strange 72-71-65-73—281
Fred Couples 71-69-67-75—282
Brian Henninger 70-68-68-76—282
Lee Janzen 69-69-74-71—283
Kenny Perry 73-70-71-69—283
Hale Irwin 69-72-71-72—284
Jose Maria Olazabal 66-74-72-72—284
Tom Watson 73-70-69-72—284
Paul Azinger 70-72-73-70—285
Brad Faxon 76-69-69-71—285
Raymond Floyd 71-70-70-74—285
John Huston 70-66-72-77—285
Colin Montgomerie 71-69-76-69—285
Corey Pavin 67-71-72-75—285
Ian Woosnam 69-72-71-73—285
David Edwards 69-73-73-71—286
Nick Faldo 70-70-71-75—286
David Gilford 67-73-75-71—286
Loren Roberts 72-69-72-73—286
Duffy Waldorf 74-69-67-76—286
Bob Estes 73-70-76-68—287
Jumbo Ozaki 70-74-70-73—287
Peter Jacobsen 72-73-69-74—288
Bernhard Langer 71-69-73-75—288
Bruce Lietzke 72-71-71-74—288
Mark O'Meara 68-72-71-77—288
Chip Beck 68-76-69-77—290
Dan Forsman 71-74-74-71—290
Wayne Grady 69-73-74-74—290
Mark McCumber 73-69-69-79—290
Jack Nicklaus 67-78-70-75—290
Tom Lehman 71-72-74-75—292
Mark Calcavecchia 70-72-78-73—293
Jeff Sluman 73-72-71-77—293
Payne Stewart 71-72-72-78—293
a-Tiger Woods 72-72-77-72—293
Seve Ballesteros 75-68-78-75—296
John Daly 75-69-71-81—296
Rick Fehr 76-69-69-83—297

Previous and next:
1994 Masters - 1996 Masters

Popular posts from this blog