Deutsche Bank Championship Golf Tournament (PGA Tour)

The Deutsche Bank Championship (called the Dell Technologies Championship during its final two years) was a PGA Tour golf tournament played in the first two decades of the 2000s. For most of that time it was part of the FedEx Cup Playoffs. It was played in a suburb of Boston as one of the final events on the tour schedule.

First played: 2003

Last played: 2018

In its first four years, the Deutsche Bank Championship was a regular stop on the tour schedule. Beginning in 2007 and through its end, the tournament was part of the FedEx Cup Playoffs, one of the final four events on the schedule. The Deutsche Bank was typically the second of the four playoff tournaments, with a limited field of golfers who qualified by finishing high enough in the previous week's event.

The tournament was discontinued after 2018 when the PGA Tour reduced the FedEx Cup Playoffs from four tournaments to just three. This is the event that was dropped.

This event always started on a Friday and ended on a Monday, unlike the Thursday-Sunday schedule of every other PGA Tour tournament. The reason is that the tournament always ended on the Monday observance of Labor Day, which, in New England states, is also the state holiday of Patriots' Day (commemorating battles of the American Revolution).

Adam Scott won the inaugural Deutsche Bank Championship in 2003 after getting into the field through a sponsor exemption. Only two golfers won the tournament more than once: Vijay Singh and Rory McIlroy (twice each). Singh also finished runner-up once.

Tiger Woods won the Deutsche Bank once, in 2006, but he did it by firing a 63 in the final round. Woods also finished second in 2004 and 2007. Woods' win in 2006 was the fifth in his streak of seven consecutives wins on the PGA Tour, the second-longest winning streak in PGA Tour history.

The tournament scoring record of 262 (22-under) was first established by Singh in 2008, tied by Charley Hoffman in 2010 and by Henrik Stenson in 2013. First Singh and then Hoffman recorded 5-stroke wins, the tournament record for margin of victory. The 18-hole scoring record in this event is 61, first recorded by Singh in 2006 and tied by Mike Weir in 2008.

Also known as: From 2003-16 it was the Deutsche Bank Championship; its final two years, 2017-18, it was named the Dell Technologies Championship.

Winners of the Deutsche Bank Championship

2003 — Adam Scott, 264
2004 — Vijay Singh, 268
2005 — Olin Browne, 270
2006 — Tiger Woods, 268
2007 — Phil Mickelson, 268
2008 — Vijay Singh, 262
2009 — Steve Stricker, 267
2010 — Charley Hoffman, 262
2011 — Webb Simpson, 269 (def. Chez Reavie in playoff)
2012 — Rory McIlroy, 264
2013 — Henrik Stenson, 262
2014 — Chris Kirk, 269
2015 — Rickie Fowler, 269
2016 — Rory McIlroy, 269
2017 — Justin Thomas, 267
2018 — Bryson DeChambeau, 268

Golf courses: The tournament was played at the same golf course every year of its history — TPC Boston in Norton, Massachusetts.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List