LPGA Corona Championship Golf Tournament at Tres Marias

The Corona Championship, also remembered as the Tres Marias Championship, was a golf tournament on the LPGA Tour that was played six times in the first decade of the 2000s. It was played in Mexico.

First played: 2005

Last played: 2010

Carin Koch was the inaugural winner, and it was the second of her two career LPGA wins. Silvia Cavalleri's win in 2007 was her only victory on the LPGA Tour. Ai Miyazato was the final champion, and her win at Tres Marias was her third of four on the LPGA Tour in 2010.

The tournament's biggest winner, however, was home-country hero Lorena Ochoa, who won three of the six times the event was played. Ochoa set the tournament scoring record of 267 in 2008 and matched it in 2009. She set the margin-of-victory record when she won in 2008 by 11 strokes. Her 2009 win was the 26th of her 27 LPGA victories.

The 18-hole scoring record of 63 was set by Miyazato in 2010.

The Tres Marias Championship was on the LPGA Tour schedule in 2011, but was canceled. The tour cited security concerns due to a spike in drug-cartel violence. The tournament did not return after that. Ochoa retired following the 2010 season and new title sponsorship was not available.

Also known as: Its first two years, it was named the Corona Morelia Championship. "Corona Championship" was the name from 2007-09, then Tres Marias Championship in 2010.

Winners of the LPGA Corona Championship

2005 — Carin Koch, 279
2006 — Lorena Ochoa, 272
2007 — Silvia Cavalleri, 272
2008 — Lorena Ochoa, 267
2009 — Lorena Ochoa, 267
2010 — Ai Miyazato, 273

Golf course: The tournament was played all six times at Tres Marias Residential Golf Club in Morelia, Michoacan, Mexico.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List