LPGA Betsy King Classic

The Betsy King Classic was a golf tournament on the LPGA Tour, named after the 34-time LPGA Tour winner and World Golf Hall of Famer. The event had several title sponsors over its run (listed below) and, in its final two years, was known as the Wachovia LPGA Classic.

First played: 1996

Last played: 2005

Annika Sorenstam was the tournament's only two-time winner, and those wins were back-to-back in the event's first two years. She nearly made it a threepeat, tying Rachel Hetherington in 1998 but losing to Hetherington on the first playoff hole.

Sorenstam's win in 1996 was just her fifth on the LPGA Tour. Her margin of victory that year, eight strokes over runner-up Laura Davies, was the largest in tournament history.

The lowest winning score in the tournament was Se Ri Pak's 267 in 2002. She earned that victory with a 63 in the final round that shares the tournament's 18-hole scoring record with a 63 scored by Tina Barrett in 2000.

Also known as: The tournament's official names over the years were CoreStates Betsy King Classic (1996-97), First Union Betsy King Classic (1998-2002) and Wachovia LPGA Classic Hosted by Betsy King (2003-04).

Winners of the LPGA Betsy King Classic

1996 — Annika Sorenstam, 270
1997 — Annika Sorenstam, 274
1998 — Rachel Hetherington, 274 (def. Sorenstam in playoff)
1999 — Mi Hyun Kim, 280
2000 — Michele Redman, 202
2001 — Heather Daly-Donofrio, 273
2002 — Se Ri Pak, 267
2003 — Candie Kung, 274
2004 — Lorena Ochoa, 269

Golf courses: The Betsy King Classic was always played at Berkleigh Country Club in Kutztown, Pennsylvania.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List