Southgate Ladies Open, Former LPGA Tour Event

The Southgate Ladies Open was a professional golf tournament on the LPGA Tour played from the late 1960s into the mid-1970s. It took place in Kansas, always in August or September. Half of the tournaments played were won by Kathy Whitworth.

First played: 1969

Last played: 1975

The tournament was always scheduled for 54 holes, although two years — 1973 and 1974 — it was shortened to 36 holes by bad weather. In the second of those years, Jane Blalock and Sue Roberts were declared co-champions when the bad weather also prevented a playoff.

Whitworth was the Southgate Open champion in 1972, 1973 and 1975. In both 1973 and 1975 the runner-up to Whitworth was Gerda Boykin. Boykin never won on the LPGA Tour, but she still has a place in its history: She was the first golfer from Germany to earn LPGA Tour membership.

The tournament's 54-hole scoring record was 210, set by Pam Barnett in 1971. It was Barnett's only victory on the LPGA Tour.

Winners of the Southgate Ladies Open

1969 — Carol Mann, 217
1970 — Kathy Ahern, 211
1971 — Pam Barnett, 210
1972 — Kathy Whitworth, 216 (def. Jocelyne Bourassa in playoff)
1973 — Kathy Whitworth, 142 (shortened by bad weather)
1974 — Jane Blalock and Sue Roberts (tie), 142 (shortened by bad weather)
1975 — Kathy Whitworth, 213

Also known as: The tournament was named the Southgate Ladies Open, or just Southgate Open, in each of its six years.

Golf course: The Southgate Open was always played at Leawood South Country Club in Leawood, Kansas.

Popular posts from this blog