Most Consecutive Years Making the Cut in The Masters

What is the Masters Tournament record for most years in a row making the cut? That record is 24 consecutive years and counting, because the golfer who holds the mark is still active and still making cuts.

The record-holder is Tiger Woods. Woods has made 24 consecutive cuts in The Masters, a streak that dates to 1997. He shared the record after the 2023 Masters, when he made his 23rd consecutive cut. But he became the sole record-holder in 2024 with his 24th made cut in a row at Augusta National.

Note that though The Masters was first played in 1934, it was a couple decades before the tournament instituted a 36-hole cut. The 1957 Masters was the first one that included a cut following the second round.

Masters Record: Consecutive Cuts Made

  • 24 years in a row — Tiger Woods, from 1997 through 2024
  • 23 — Gary Player, from 1959 through 1982
  • 23 — Fred Couples, from 1983 through 2007
  • 21 — Tom Watson, from 1975 through 1995
  • 19 — Gene Littler, from 1961 through 1980
  • 19 — Bernhard Langer, from 1984 through 2002
  • 18 — Billy Casper, from 1960 through 1977
  • 16 — Phil Mickelson, from 1998 through 2013
  • 15 — Bruce Devlin, from 1964 through 1981
  • 15 — Jack Nicklaus, from 1968 through 1982
Player's 23-year streak included three victories in the tournament (1961, 1974, 1978). Couples won once (1992). Woods won five times (1997, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2019) during his streak. Woods missed the cut as an amateur in 1996, but has made the cut in every Masters he's played as a professional so far.

Jack Nicklaus, the tournament's all-time leader with six wins, had a best cuts-made streak of 15 years. He first missed the cut in 1967, when he was going for a third consecutive victory. He failed to make the cut in 1982 only because he was forced to withdraw by back spasms. Nicklaus finished in the Top 10 in 12 of 15 Masters during his streak.

As shown on the list above, in the history of the Masters Tournament cut, there have been 10 golfers with cuts-made streaks of 15 years or more. Two of the golfers who make the list, though, never won the tournament: Littler and Devlin.

Related articles:

Popular posts from this blog