LPGA Tour's ADT Championship Tournament

The ADT Championship was a high-dollar, season-ending "tour championship" golf tournament on the LPGA Tour from the mid-1990s into the late 2000-aughts. For its final three years, it boasted the first "playoff format" in professional golf and the highest first-place prize money in women's golf history to that point.

First played: 1996

Last played: 2008

From 1996 through 2005, the ADT Championship (known by different names during most of those years, those names being listed below) was the season-ender on the LPGA Tour and used a standard tour event format. It had a total purse of $1 million. But beginning in 2006, the winner's share alone was boosted to $1 million, which, at the time, was the highest winner's check in the history of women's golf.

The format also changed in 2006 to what the LPGA Tour called a "playoff format" (beating by one year the PGA Tour's introduction of "playoffs"). A field of 32 was whittled to 16 following the second round; those 16 were whittled to just eight after the third round; and those eight remaining golfers played for the title in the final round.

The first $1 million first-place winner was Julieta Granada, followed by Lorena Ochoa and the Jiyai Shin in the final year.

Prior to the switch to a playoff format, Annika Sorenstam had been the dominant player, with four victories. Karrie Webb was the only other multiple champion with two wins.

Pat Hurst set the tournament's 18-hole record of 64 during the second round in 1997. In the pre-playoff era, the 72-hole tournament record was the 272 Webb won with in the first year, 1996.

Winners of the LPGA ADT Championship

From 2006-08, the tournament used a playoff format that started with a field of 32 golfers. After two rounds, the low 16 scorers advanced and the high 16 scorers were eliminated. Following the third round, the Top 8 (based on third-round score only) advanced. The winner was the golfer among those eight who scored lowest in the fourth round.

2008 — Jiyai Shin
2007 — Lorena Ochoa
2006 — Julieta Granada

From 1997-2005, the tournament used a standard, four-round, 72-hole, cumulative-score format:

2005 — Annika Sorenstam, 282
2004 — Annika Sorenstam, 275
2003 — Meg Mallon, 281
2002 — Annika Sorenstam, 275
2001 — Karrie Webb, 279
2000 — Dottie Pepper, 279
1999 — Se Ri Pak, 276
1998 — Laura Davies, 277
1997 — Annika Sorenstam, 277
1996 — Karrie Webb, 272

Also known as: The tournament was played under multiple different names through its history. In 1996-97, it was named the ITT LPGA Tour Championship. That was followed by PageNet Tour Championship and PageNet Championship. In 2000, it was the Arch Wireless Championship and in 2001 the Tyco/ADT Championship. ADT Security Services took over title sponsorship beginning in 2002 and it became the ADT Championship. In the last three years, when the playoff format was used, it was officially named "LPGA Playoffs at The ADT."

Golf courses: The ADT Championship was played at the Desert Inn Golf Club in Las Vegas, Nevada, from 1996-99, then at the LPGA International Golf Club (Daytona Beach, Fla.) in 2000. From 2001 on, it was played at Trump International Golf Club in West Palm Beach, Florida.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List