Denver Open Invitational Golf Tournament (Ex-PGA Tour)

The Denver Open Invitational was a pro golf tournament on the PGA Tour that was played six times over a 16-year period from the 1940s to the 1960s. Although sporadically played, and played over three time periods, those tournaments are considered one continuous event in PGA Tour recordkeeping. The Denver Open is best-remembered as the site of Chi Chi Rodriguez's first tour victory.

First played: 1947

Last played: 1963

Winners of the Denver Open Invitational

1947 — Lew Worsham, 276
1948 — Ben Hogan, 270
1949–1957 — Not played
1958 — Tommy Jacobs, 266
1959–1960 — Not played
1961 — Dave Hill, 263
1962 — Bob Goalby, 277
1963 — Chi Chi Rodriguez, 276

Rodriguez's win in 1963 was his first on the PGA Tour. He was 28 years old and in his third year as a pro. Rodriguez won by two strokes over runner-up Bill Eggers. He went on to become the first Puerto Rican golfer elected to the World Golf Hall of Fame.

The biggest-name to win this tournament was Ben Hogan, who took the title in 1948 by one stroke over second-place Fred Haas. It was one of 10 wins by Hogan on the PGA Tour that year.

Hogan had been among the three runners-up to Worsham in 1947. Another golfer also finished second one year and then won the next: Bob Goalby tied for second in 1961 before winning the Denver Open in 1962.

Dave Hill set the tournament scoring record of 263 in 1961, when he won by six strokes over Goalby and Art Wall Jr. The six-shot winning margin was also a tournament record.

Golf courses: The Denver Open Invitational was, of course, always played in the Denver, Colorado, area. Cherry Hills Country Club was the first venue in 1947; Denver Country Club was the venue the last two years the tournament was played. Wellshire Country Club and Meadow Hills Country Club also hosted.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List