Senior Tour's NFL Golf Classic Tournament

The NFL Golf Classic was a professional golf tournament on the Champions Tour played from the early 1990s into the early 2000s. Its field included, competing along with the senior golfers, professional football players, hence the tournament name.

First played: 1993

Last played: 2002

The NFL Golf Classic was so-named because the National Football League co-managed the tournament with the Champions Tour. Past and present NFL players played alongside the senior tour pros during the event.

Lee Trevino was the only two-time winner of the tournament. His victory in the inaugural NFL Golf Classic in 1993 was his 16th on the Champions Tour; and Trevino's second win in 2000 was his 29th and final win on the senior circuit.

Bruce Crampton also recorded his final Champions Tour win, the 20th of his career, in this tournament. Crampton was 61 years, 7 months, 20 days old, which made him, at that time in 1997, the third-oldest winner in Champions Tour history.

The lowest winning score was 202, first established by Bob Murphy in 1996 and then tied by Trevino in 2000. The tournament's 18-hole scoring record was 62, first carded by Murphy in 1996 and matched that same year by Dave Stockton.

Winners of the Champions Tour NFL Golf Classic

1993 — Lee Trevino, 209
1994 — Raymond Floyd, 206
1995 — George Archer, 205
1996 — Bob Murphy, 202
1997 — Bruce Crampton, 210 (def. Hugh Baiocchi in playoff)
1998 — Bob Dickson, 207 (def. Jim Colbert and Larry Nelson in playoff)
1999 — Allen Doyle, 204 (def. Joe Inman in playoff)
2000 — Lee Trevino, 202
2002 — James Mason, 207
2001 — John Schroeder, 207 (def. Allen Doyle in playoff)

Also known as: From 1993 through 2000, Cadillac was the title sponsor and the tournament's name was "Cadillac NFL Golf Classic."

Golf course: The tournament was always played at Upper Montclair Country Club in Clifton, New Jersey.

Bob Murphy's win in 1996 was notable because of the golf course. Twenty-eight years earlier he had won a PGA Tour tournament on the same course. That PGA Tour victory was the 1968 Thunderbird Invitational.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List