JCPenney Classic Golf Tournament (Winners, Formats, History)

The JCPenney Classic golf tournament paired a PGA Tour player and an LPGA Tour player in a mixed team format. It took place from the early 1960s to the late 1990s.

First played: 1960

Last played: 1999

The format when the tournament ended was better ball (low ball of the two partners) in Rounds 1 and 3, alternate shot in Rounds 2 and 4. But other formats were used over the years.

When the tournament began, it was 36 holes of the Pinehurst format (both players tee off, each hits the other's ball for the second shot, then they played alternate shot into the hole). In some years, the event mixed Pinehurst, better ball and a scramble.

Players were free to make their own teams, and many players did — some played with the same partner for nearly 20 years. Golfers without a readymade pairing were put together by JCPenney Classic organizers. Other partnerships were based on established relationships.

For example, siblings Larry and Laurie Rinker were winners one year. Other interesting winning teams included Beth Daniel, whose first instructor was Davis Love Jr., and Davis Love III; Amy Benz and John Huston, who were teammates in high school; John Daly and Laura Davies, two big-boned, big-hitting blonde bombers.

In 1996, new pros Tiger Woods and Kelli Kuehne finished third playing in matching outfits from the sponsor that had just made each of them millionaires, Nike.

Also known as: It was called the JCPenney Classic from 1985 through 1999. Previous names were JCPenney Mixed Team Classic (1978-84), Pepsi-Cola Mixed Team Championship (1976-77) and Haig & Haig Scotch Foursome (1960-67). The tournament is sometimes misspelled as JC Penney or J.C. Penney.

Winners of the JCPenney Classic Golf Tournament

1999 — John Daly and Laura Davies
1998 — Steve Pate and Meg Mallon
1997 — Clarence Rose and Amy Fruhwirth
1996 — Mike Hulbert and Donna Andrews
1995 — Davis Love III and Beth Daniel
1994 — Brad Bryant and Marta Figueras-Dotti
1993 — Mike Springer and Melissa McNamara
1992 — Dan Forsman and Dottie Mochrie
1991 — Billy Andrade and Kris Tschetter
1990 — Davis Love III and Beth Daniel
1989 — Bill Glasson and Pat Bradley
1988 — John Huston and Amy Benz
1987 — Steve Jones and Jane Crafter
1986 — Tom Purtzer and Juli Inkster
1985 — Larry Rinker and Laurie Rinker
1984 — Mike Donald and Vicki Alvarez
1983 — Fred Couples and Jan Stephenson
1982 — John Mahaffey and JoAnne Carner
1981 — Tom Kite and Beth Daniel
1980 — Curtis Strange and Nancy Lopez
1979 — Dave Eichelberger and Murle Breer
1978 — Lon Hinkle and Pat Bradley
1977 — Jerry Pate and Hollis Stacy
1976 — Chi Chi Rodriguez and Jo Ann Washam
1968–75 — Not played
1967 — Laurie Hammer and Dave Stockton (this was the only time the tournament included men only)
1966 — Jack Rule Jr. and Sandra Spuzich
1965 — Gardner Dickinson and Ruth Jessen
1964 — Sam Snead and Shirley Englehorn
1963 — Dave Ragan and Mickey Wright
1962 — Mason Rudolph and Kathy Whitworth
1961 — Dave Ragan and Mickey Wright
1960 — Jim Turnesa and Gloria Armstrong

Golf courses: The JCPenney Classic was last played at Innisbrook Resort in Palm Harbor, Fla., its home from 1990-99. It was first played at Pinecrest Lakes Country Club (Avon Park, Fla.) and Harder Hall (Sebring Fla.), which shared the event from 1960-64. Other homes were La Costa Country Club in Carlsbad, Calif.; Doral Country Club in Doral, Fla.; and Bardmoor Country Club in Largo, Fla.

Popular posts from this blog