Deutsche Bank Open TPC of Europe

The Deutsche Bank Open TPC of Europe (also called the Deutsche Bank Players Championship of Europe) was a tournament on the European Tour played in Germany. It was won three times by Tiger Woods.

First played: 1992

Last played: 2007

The event's biggest claim to fame is that Tiger Woods won it three times, more than anyone else. Woods was reportedly paid large appearance fees to play, and his victories happened during the height of his talents, in the late 1990s/early 2000s. One of Woods' wins required a playoff, however. In 2002 Woods defeated Colin Montgomerie in extra holes.

Bernhard Langer and Lee Westwood, with two wins each, were the other multiple champions. When Westwood won in 2000, Woods tied for third place.

The tournament scoring record of 263 was set by Robert Karlsson in 2006. The largest margin of victory was six strokes by Langer in 1995.

Also known as: First played as the Honda Open, then as the Deutsche Bank Open TPC of Europe, Deutsche Bank - SAP Open TPC of Europe, and finally the Deutsche Bank Players Championship of Europe.

Winners of the Deutsche Bank Open TPC of Europe

1992 — Bernhard Langer, 273
1993 — Sam Torrance, 278 (def. Ian Woosnam, Johan Rystrom, Paul Broadhurst in playoff)
1994 — Robert Allenby, 276 (def. Miguel Angel Jimenez in playoff)
1995 — Bernhard Langer, 270
1996 — Frank Nobilo, 270
1997 — Ross McFarlane, 282
1998 — Lee Westwood, 265
1999 — Tiger Woods, 273
2000 — Lee Westwood, 273
2001 — Tiger Woods, 270
2002 — Tiger Woods, 268 (def. Colin Montgomerie in playoff)
2003 — Padraig Harrington, 269 (def. Thomas Bjorn in playoff)
2004 — Trevor Immelman, 271
2005 — Niclas Fasth, 274 (def. Angel Cabrera in playoff)
2006 — Robert Karlsson, 263
2007 — Andres Romero, 269

Golf course: It was played every year but three at Gut Kaden Golf Club in Alveslohe, Germany. In 1999 and 2000-01, the host site was Golf Club St Leon-Rot in Heidelberg, Germany.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List