Youngest Winners on the Epson Tour

The youngest-ever winner on the Epson Tour was 16 years old at the time, and she is the only golfer younger than 17 to win on that tour. Several other golfers won at the age of 17, and three of the golfers on the list below were amateurs at the times of their victories.

The Epson Tour is the secondary women's professional golf tour in the United States, the developmental tour of the top-level LPGA Tour. The LPGA owns the Epson Tour, which has also been known over its history as the Futures Tour, LPGA Futures Tour, Duramed Futures Tour and Symetra Tour.

The record-holder as youngest-ever winner on the Epson Tour is Hannah O'Sullivan, who, playing as an amateur at 16 years, 9 months and 11 days old, won the 2015 Gateway Classic. O'Sullivan got into the tournament as a sponsor exemption. She finished at 15-under 201, winning by four strokes. She was the tour's first amateur winner since Kellee Booth in 1999.

O'Sullivan, surprisingly, never pursued a professional tour career. She played collegiately at Duke University, but her game fell off during her time there. She graduated early with a degree in Economics and, after graduation, pursued a career in finance as an investment banking analyst.

The List: Youngest-Ever Epson Tour Winners

  • 16 years, 9 months, 11 days — Hannah O'Sullivan (amateur), 2015 Gateway Classic
  • 17 years, 5 months, 21 days — Cristie Kerr (amateur), 1995 Ironwood Futures Classic
  • 17 years, 8 months, 4 days — Ellie Gibson (amateur), 1985 Kiwanis Invitational
  • 17 years, 8 months, 4 days — Song-Hee Kim, 2006 Louisiana Pelican Classic
  • 17 years, 9 months, 3 days — Haeji Kang, 2008 Greater Richmond Duramed Futures Classic
  • 17 years, 9 months, 11 days — Brooke Henderson, 2015 Four Winds Invitational South Bend Country Club
  • 17 years, 9 months, 18 days — Jenny Shin, 2010 The International at Concord
  • 17 years, 10 months, 8 days — Vicky Hurst, 2008 Jalapeno Golf Classic
Of the golfers who make the list, only Kerr, Henderson and Shin went on to win on the LPGA Tour. Kerr and Henderson became big stars and major-championship winners, and are likely future Hall of Famers.

Interestingly, the major-league tour, so to speak, that the Epson Tour feeds into, the LPGA Tour, has had younger winners than its developmental tour. But that is due to the precociousness of Lydia Ko and Lexi Thompson. See Youngest-Ever Winners on the LPGA Tour.

Related articles:

Popular posts from this blog