Who Has the Most Wins in the Women's PGA Championship?

One golfer in the history of the Women's PGA Championship (originally named the LPGA Championship) won it four times. Six other golfers posted three wins each in this major championship of women's professional golf. And a handful of other golfers also reached multiple victories.

The list of all multiple Women's PGA Championship winners is below. But first, let's answer that headline question: Which golfer won it most often?

Most Wins: 4 by Mickey Wright

Mickey Wright holds the tournament record with four victories in the Women's PGA Championship. Her wins happened long before the PGA of America took over this tournament from the LPGA, so the tournament was named the LPGA Championship for all of Wright's wins:
  • 1958: The 23-year-old Wright won her first major championship of any kind here, opening with a pair of 69s. She ended with a 6-stroke win over runner-up Fay Crocker.
  • 1960: Wright took a 1-stroke lead over Louise Suggs into the final round, then scored 71 to Suggs' 73. Wright finished at 292, two strokes ahead of Suggs.
  • 1961: Suggs was the runner-up to Wright again this year, but was a distant nine strokes behind. It was Wright's third win of the year in a major, and her 10th victory of the 1961 LPGA Tour season.
  • 1963: This time, her LPGA Championship win was Wright's 13th of the LPGA season. And for the third time, Suggs was runner-up, tied with Mary Mills and Mary Lena Faulk, two strokes behind Wright.

Related: Full list of Women's PGA Championship winners

The List: All Multiple Winners of Women's PGA Champions

4 wins — Mickey Wright, 1958, 1960, 1961, 1963
3 wins — Kathy Whitworth, 1967, 1971, 1975
3 wins — Nancy Lopez, 1978, 1985, 1989
3 wins — Patty Sheehan, 1983, 1984, 1993
3 wins — Annika Sorenstam, 2003, 2004, 2005
3 wins — Se Ri Pak, 1998, 2002, 2006
3 wins — Inbee Park, 2013, 2014, 2015
2 wins — Betsy Rawls, 1959, 1969
2 wins — Mary Mills, 1964, 1973
2 wins — Sandra Haynie, 1965, 1974
2 wins — Donna Caponi, 1979, 1981
2 wins — Laura Davies, 1994, 1996
2 wins — Juli Inkster, 1999, 2000
2 wins — Yani Tseng, 2008, 2011

Note that two of the 3-time winners, Sorenstam and Park, each won their titles consecutively — threepeats, back-to-back-to-back. An interesting, and probably surprising, note: Lopez's three LPGA Championship wins were her only victories in LPGA majors.

See also:

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List