Largest Winning Margins in Women's PGA Championship

Below are the six golfers who have recorded the largest margins of victory in winning the Women's PGA Championship. All six of them are big names in LPGA history and multiple-major championship winners.

The Women's PGA Championship is one of the five majors of women's professional golf. Known for most of its history as the LPGA Championship, the tournament has been run by the PGA of America (and under its current name) since 2015.

The six champions who follow all won their respective titles by at least eight strokes. The earliest LPGA Championship win on the list is from 1961, the most-recent in 2011.

Women's PGA Championship Margin-of-Victory Records

  • 12 strokes — Cristie Kerr, 2010. Kerr won at 269, the runner-up was Song-Hee Kim.
  • 11 strokes — Betsy King, 1992. King won at 267, the runners-up were JoAnne Carner, Liselotte Neumann and Karen Noble.
  • 10 strokes — Yani Tseng, 2011. Tseng won at 269, the runner-up was Morgan Pressel.
  • 10 strokes — Patty Sheehan, 1984. Sheehan won at 272, the runner-up was Pat Bradley.
  • 9 strokes — Mickey Wright, 1961. Wright won at 287, the runner-up was Louise Suggs.
  • 8 strokes — Nancy Lopez, 1985. Lopez won at 275, the runner-up was Alice Miller.
Not surprisingly, the record-holder, Kerr, led wire-to-wire in her 2010 Women's PGA Championship victory, where she set the margin-of-victory record at Locust Hill Country Club in New York. She led by one after a 68 in the first round. Then a 66 stretched her lead after the second round to five. That became an 8-shot lead when Kerr carded a third-round 69. Kerr closed with a 66 that was the lowest score of the final round.

Related articles:

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List