Emerald Coast Classic on the Champions Tour

The Emerald Coast Classic, which was named The Boeing Championship at Sandestin by the time the event ended, was a golf tournament on the Champions Tour from the mid-1990s through the middle of the first decade of the 21st century.

First played: 1995

Last played: 2007

The Emerald Coast Classic was played in Florida and was a 54-hole stroke play tournament (except for a couple years, noted below, when poor weather shortened it to 36 holes).

It might perhaps be best-remembered for Bob Duval's victory in 1999. For Duval, the father of PGA Tour major championship winner David Duval, it was his only win on the Champions Tour. But it happened on the very same day that David won the 1999 Players Championship on the PGA Tour — the only time a father and son have won PGA Tour-sanctioned tournaments on the same day.

The 18-hole scoring record of 60 was set by Isao Aoki in 1997. Aoki had birdie putts of 25 and 30 feet on the final two holes, either of which would have produced the senior tour's first round of 59. But he couldn't convert either.

The lowest winning total was Bob Gilder's 193 in 2003. There were multiple playoffs in the tournament's history, including a five-man playoff in 1996, which Lee Trevino won.

Also known as: It went by its original name (Emerald Coast Classic) from 1995 through 2003. In 2004-05, it was called the Blue Angels Classic, and in 2006-07, The Boeing Championship at Sandestin.

Winners of the Emerald Coast Classic

1995 — Raymond Floyd, 135 (shortened by bad weather; def. Tom Wargo in playoff)
1996 — Lee Trevino, 207 (def. Bob Eastwood, David Graham, Mike Hill and Dave Stockton in playoff)
1997 — Isao Aoki, 196 (def. Gil Morgan in playoff)
1998 — Dana Quigley, 200
1999 — Bob Duval, 200
2000 — Gil Morgan, 197
2001 — Mike McCullough, 200 (def. Andy North in playoff)
2002 — Dave Eichelberger, 130 (shortened by bad weather)
2003 — Bob Gilder, 193
2004 — Tom Jenkins, 196
2005 — Jim Thorpe, 194 (def. Morris Hatalsky in playoff)
2006 — Bobby Wadkins, 203
2007 — Loren Roberts, 197

Golf courses: The Moors Golf Club in Milton, Florida, was the longtime home of the tournament. It was played there all but the final two years. In 2006-07, the event moved to Raven Golf Club in Sandestin, Florida.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List