PGA Tour Record: Consecutive Wins In Same Tournament

What is the PGA Tour record for winning the same tournament the most years in a row? That record is four — four consecutive wins in the same tournament. It's been done five times, by four golfers. Which means that one golfer had two different four-year winning streaks in a single tournament (yes, it's Tiger).

Here's a look at the tour's longest tournament winning streaks — each time a PGA Tour golfer won the same tournament four times in a row:

  • Young Tom Morris, British Open: The PGA Tour retroactively recognizes all British Open winners, even those who won it decades before the PGA Tour existed, as official tour winners. So Young Tom Morris' wins in the Opens of 1868, 1869, 1870 and 1872 put him on this list. When Morris won his third in a row, he got to retire the Challenge Belt, the trophy of that time, permanently. That's why the British Open wasn't played in 1871: They had no trophy to give out. But the Claret Jug was commissioned and the Open resumed in 1872, with Morris winning his fourth in a row.

  • Walter Hagen, PGA Championship: Hagen was the match play king back in his day, and he won the PGA Championship, then using a match play format, in 1924, 1925, 1926 and 1927. (He also won in 1921.) His defeated opponents in the title match were, in order, Jim Barnes, Wild Bill Mehlhorn, Leo Diegel and Joe Turnesa.

  • Gene Sarazen, Miami Open: The Miami Open was played from 1924 through 1955, and Sarazen's four wins happened consecutively. He won it in 1926, 1928, 1929 and 1930. The tournament wasn't played in 1927 because it was switching from a December date to a January date.

  • Tiger Woods, Bay Hill Invitational: Arnold Palmer's tournament was always a favorite for Woods, who won it eight times total. Four of those victories happened consecutively, in 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2003.

  • Tiger Woods, Buick Invitational: This is the PGA Tour's San Diego tournament, played at Torrey Pines since 1968. Woods has seven wins total in the tournament. And, again, Woods earned four of those wins consecutively: 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008. And Woods also won the 2008 U.S. Open at Torrey Pines.

Photo credit: "Tiger Woods" by myophoto is licensed under CC BY-ND 2.0

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List