LPGA Office Depot Championship Tournament

The Office Depot Championship was a golf tournament on the LPGA Tour that began in South Carolina and ended in Los Angeles. In six of the nine years it was played, it was won by a member of the then-LPGA Tour's "Big 3."

First played: 1997

Last played: 2005

The LPGA's "Big 3" in the late 1990s, early 2000s consisted of Annika Sorenstam, Karrie Webb and Se Ri Pak. Sorenstam won this tournament three times, Webb twice and Pak once. Only three other golfers managed to get victories over the tournament's nine-year run.

The first of Sorenstam's wins, in 2010, was the fourth consecutive LPGA tournament that she won. (That win streak ended in the following event.) The only playoff in Office Depot Championship history also happened that year, Mi Hyun Kim falling to Sorenstam in extra holes.

The largest margin of victory was four strokes by Sorenstam in 2003. The tournament's 18-hole scoring record was 62 by Meg Mallon in the first round in 1998, when she eventually finished runner-up to Webb.

The Office Depot Championship was scheduled for 72 holes its first four years, but shortened to 54 holes during its final five years.

Also known as: The tournament debuted in 1997 as the Susan G. Komen International, then for two years it was called the City of Hope Myrtle Beach Classic. In 2000, the name was Kathy Ireland Greens.com LPGA Classic. Office Depot took over as title sponsor for the final five years, and "Hosted by Amy Alcott" was part of the official event name for four of those years.

Winners of the Office Depot Championship

1997 — Karrie Webb, 276
1998 — Karrie Webb, 269
1999 — Rachel Hetherington, 137 (36 holes due to poor weather)
2000 — Grace Park, 274
2001 — Annika Sorenstam, 210 (def. Mi Hyun Kim in playoff)
2002 — Se Ri Pak, 209
2003 — Annika Sorenstam, 211
2004 — Annika Sorenstam, 207
2005 — Hee-Won Han, 201

Popular posts from this blog