Longest Time Between First and Last Wins on PGA Tour

What is the biggest gap — the longest amount of time — in tour history between a golfer's first PGA Tour win and that same golfer's last PGA Tour win? The all-time record is very close to 29 years. Meaning the record-holder's last win happened nearly 29 years after his first win.

Below is the list of all golfers in PGA Tour history whose last win happened at least 23 years after his first. And guess what: They are all pretty good golfers! All but one was a major championship winner.

The Record-Holder: Raymond Floyd, 28 Years, 11 Months

Raymond Floyd's first win on the PGA Tour was the 1963 St. Petersburg Open Invitational, a victory he completed on March 17, 1963. And his last PGA Tour win was the 1992 Doral-Ryder Open, which he nailed down on March 8, 1992.

That's a gap of 28 years, 11 months, 20 days — 10 days shy of 29 years — and that is the longest such gap in tour history. Floyd was 20 years old at the time of his first win, 49 years old at the time of his last. All told, he won 22 times on the PGA Tour, including four major championships.

That 1992 Doral win gave Floyd PGA Tour wins in four decades. Later in the year, he won on the Champions Tour, becoming the first golfer to win on the PGA and Champions tours in the same calendar year.

The List: Longest Time Between First and Last Wins

These are all the golfers in PGA Tour history with a gap of 23 years or more between their first and last victories.
  • 28 years, 11 months, 20 days — Raymond Floyd, first win at 1963 St. Petersburg Open Invitational, last win at 1992 Doral-Ryder Open
  • 28 years, 6 months, 28 days — Sam Snead, first win at 1936 West Virginia Closed Pro, last win at 1965 Greater Greensboro Open
  • 28 years, 4 months, 4 days — Davis Love III, first win at 1987 MCI Heritage Golf Classic, last win at 2015 Wyndham Championship
  • 28 years, 29 days — Phil Mickelson, first win at 1991 Northern Telecom Open, last win at 2019 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am
  • 23 years, 11 months, 4 days — Macdonald Smith, first win at 1912 Western Open, last win at 1936 Seattle Open
  • 23 years, 10 months, 24 days — Tom Watson, first win at 1974 Western Open, last win at 1998 MasterCard Colonial
  • 23 years, 9 months, 27 days — Jack Nicklaus, first win at 1962 U.S. Open Championship, last win at 1986 Masters Tournament
  • 23 years, 3 months, 7 days — Gene Littler, first win at 1954 San Diego Open, last win at 1977 Houston Open
  • 23 years, 1 months, 17 days — Stewart Cink, first win at 1997 Canon Greater Hartford Open, last win at 2021 Safeway Open
Macdonald Smith, by the way, is the one who never won a major. But Smith did win 25 total times on the PGA Tour.

Popular posts from this blog