Yearly 'Strokes Gained: Approach the Green' Leaders on PGA Tour

"Strokes Gained: Approach the Green" is the name of a statistical category on the PGA Tour that measures a golfer's performance relative to the field in approach shots played into greens.

Strokes Gained Approach the Green is often abbreviated "SG: Approach the Green." It is calculated using a complex mathematical formula that results in a number representing the average number of strokes a golfer gains (or loses) compared to the rest of the field based on the quality of his approach shots. If a golfer has an SG: Approach the Green average of .500, for example, that means the golfer is a half-stroke better than the field at playing approach shots.

For the purposes of this stat, the PGA Tour defines those shots as tee shots on par-3 holes, and non-tee shots on par-4 and par-5 holes that are played into the green from distances beyond 30 yards.

The List: Strokes Gained Approach the Green Leaders

2023 — Scottie Scheffler, 1.197
2022 — Will Zalatoris, 1.063
2021 — Collin Morikawa, 1.170
2020 — Justin Thomas, .997
2019 — Henrik Stenson, 1.149
2018 — Henrik Stenson, .960
2017 — Paul Casey, .939
2016 — Adam Scott, 1.491
2015 — Henrik Stenson, 1.244
2014 — Jim Furyk, 1.175
2013 — Tiger Woods, 1.533
2012 — Tiger Woods, 1.224
2011 — Luke Donald, 1.094
2010 — Adam Scott, 1.164
2009 — Tiger Woods, 1.398
2008 — Robert Allenby, 1.217
2007 — Tiger Woods, 1.653
2006 — Tiger Woods, 2.072
2005 — Jim Furyk, .982
2004 — Sergio Garcia, 1.211

Tiger Woods is the dominant player in Strokes Gained Approach the Green so far in this stat category's short history. Basically, if Woods is fully healthy he either leads the tour in this stat, or finishes very high in the rankings.

Woods has led in SG: Approach the Green five times (Henrik Stenson is next with three). He also holds the the record of 2.072 in 2006, the only 2 or higher average so far. He was nearly twice as good on approach shots as the runner-up (Adam Scott, 1.115) that year.

Related articles:

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List