1987 World Golf Rankings: No. 1, Top 50 at End of Year

Who was the No. 1 player in men's golf at the end of 1987? Which golfers finished the year ranked the highest in the Official World Golf Ranking? Below is the year-end list of 1987's top-ranked golfers.

Greg Norman was ranked No. 1 at the end of the year despite having no wins during the year on the PGA Tour or the European Tour. He had won three times on the PGA Tour in 1986, including the British Open, and there was some carryover from that. Norman lost in a playoff (to Larry Mize) at the 1987 Masters, and won the Australian Masters and Australian Open.

Men's World Golf Rankings, End of 1987

These were the Top 50 golfers in the final Official World Golf Ranking of the calendar year 1987. For comparison's sake, the Top 10 golfers are listed with their average ranking points earned per tournament.

1. Greg Norman, Australia, 1231
2. Seve Ballesteros, Spain, 1169
3. Bernhard Langer, Germany, 1112
4. Sandy Lyle, Scotland, 879
5. Curtis Strange, United States, 873
6. Ian Woosnam, Wales, 830
7. Payne Stewart, United States, 717
8. Lanny Wadkins, United States, 697
9. Mark McNulty, Zimbabwe, 673
10. Ben Crenshaw, United States, 668
11. Paul Azinger, United States
12. Larry Mize, United States
13. Rodger Davis, Australia
14. Nick Faldo, England
15. Tommy Nakajima, Japan
16. Tom Watson, , United States
17. Scott Simpson, United States
18. Jumbo Ozaki, Japan
19. Isao Aoki, Japan
20. Hal Sutton, United States
21. Tom Kite, United States
22. David Frost, South Africa
23. Larry Nelson, United States
24. Corey Pavin, United States
25. David Ishii, United States
26. Mark O'Meara, United States
27. Scott Hoch, United States
28. Craig Stadler, United States
29. Dan Pohl, United States
29. (tie) Bob Tway, United States
31. Mark Calcavecchia, United States
32. Don Pooley, United States
33. Gordon Brand Jr., Scotland
34. Andy Bean, United States
35. Graham Marsh, Australia
36. Chip Beck, United States
37. Raymond Floyd, United States
38. Peter Senior, Australia
39. Fuzzy Zoeller, United States
40. Ian Baker-Finch, Australia
41. Howard Clark, England
42. Bobby Wadkins, United States
43. D.A. Weibring, United States
44. Sam Torrance, Scotland
45. Massy Kuramoto, Japan
46. Fred Couples, United States
47. Nick Price, Zimbabwe
48. Mac O'Grady, United States
49. Jose Maria Olazabal, Spain
50. Calvin Peete, United States

The full OWGR at the end of 1987 can be viewed in the OWGR Archives.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List