PGA Tour Record: Most Wins at One Tournament

Sam Snead shares the PGA Tour record for most wins at one tournament
In the history of the PGA Tour, what is the most times a single tournament has been won the by same golfer? That record is eight: Eight wins by one golfer in the same tournament. But two different golfers have done that, and they did it three times between them. Let's take a closer look at this record.

8 Wins in the Same Tournament

  • Sam Snead, Greater Greensboro Open, 1938, 1946, 1949, 1950, 1955, 1956, 1960, 1965
  • Tiger Woods, Arnold Palmer Invitational, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2013
  • Tiger Woods, WGC Bridgestone Invitational, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2013
Snead was the first to do it, and in his 1965 win in the Greater Greensboro Open he set a couple of other PGA Tour records. The 27-year gap between Snead's first and last wins at the GGO remains the tour record for longest gap between first and last victories in the same tournament. And, at nearly 53 years old, Snead became the oldest winner in PGA Tour history, another record he still holds today.

In 2013, Woods tied Snead, not once but twice. The Arnold Palmer Invitational was called the Bay Hill Invitational when Woods first won it in 2000; and the WGC Bridgestone Invitational was called the WGC NEC Invitational when he first won it in 1999.

(Related: All of Tiger Woods' wins in the Arnold Palmer Invitational)

7 Wins in the Same Tournament

  • Tiger Woods, Farmers Insurance Open, 1999, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2013
  • Tiger Woods, WGC Cadillac Championship, 1999, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2013
Now we know there are four different tournaments Woods has won at least seven times each. More than one-third of Woods' career wins are in those four tournaments alone. When Woods first won the Farmers Insurance Open in 1999, it was called the Buick Invitational. The WGC Cadillac Championship, over the span of Woods' wins in it, was also known as the American Express Championship and the CA Championship.

6 Wins in the Same Tournament

  • Harry Vardon, British Open, 1896, 1898, 1899, 1903, 1911, 1914
  • Alex Ross, North and South Open, 1902, 1904, 1907, 1908, 1910, 1915
  • Sam Snead, Miami Open, 1937, 1939, 1946, 1950, 1951, 1955
  • Jack Nicklaus, The Masters, 1963, 1965, 1966, 1972, 1975, 1986
Vardon and Nicklaus are the only (so far) 6-time winners of one of the men's professional major championships. And we also see Snead again. Vardon was the first to record six wins in the same event, claiming his sixth British Open in June of 1914.

Winning the Same Tournament 5+ Times: Who Has Done it the Most?

As you can see from the short list above, it is rare in the history of the PGA Tour for a golfer to post six or more wins in the same event. It has happened only nine times, and just five golfers account for those nine instances.

It is more common (but still rare) for a golfer to win the same tournament five times. Who has won the same tournament five or more times most often? Tiger Woods has done it seven times. In addition to the tournaments listed above, Woods has posted five wins at The Masters, The Memorial and the BMW Championship.

The golfers tied for second place, Jack Nicklaus and Sam Snead, each have "only" three tournaments where they won five times. For Snead, in addition to the tournaments listed above, he also won the Goodall Palm Beach Round Robin five times. For Nicklaus, in addition to winning The Masters six times, he also recorded five wins in the PGA Championship and the Tournament of Champions.

Popular posts from this blog

Ryder Cup Captains: The Full List