Greater Manchester Open (European Tour Golf Tournament)

The Greater Manchester Open was a golf tournament played annually over a 7-year period from the mid-1970s to the early 1980s. It was part of the European Tour schedule, and was played near Manchester, England. It was a 72-hole event.

First played: 1975

Last played: 1981

Eamonn Darcy, one of three Irish golfers to win the Greater Manchester Open, earned his first career win on the European Tour here, as did another Irishman, John O'Leary (although Smyth won only four Euro Tour titles and O'Leary only two).

There were two playoffs in the tournament's history, one short and one long. Brian Barnes won the 1978 title on the first playoff hole. But in 1980, Smyth didn't win until making a birdie on the sixth extra hole.

Smyth also set the tournament scoring record in 1980 with a winning score of 264, and a score in relation to par of 16-under. The largest margin of victory was eight strokes, by Darcy in 1977.

Also known as: For its final two years the tournament acquired a title sponsor and was named the Cold Shield Greater Manchester Open.

Winners of the Greater Manchester Open

1975 — Howard Clark, 284
1976 — John O'Leary, 276
1977 — Eamonn Darcy, 269
1978 — Brian Barnes, 275 (defeated Bob Charles, Denis Durnian and Nick Job in playoff)
1979 — Mark McNulty, 267
1980 — Des Smyth, 273 (defeated Brian Waites in playoff)
1981 — Bernard Gallacher, 264

Golf courses: It took place at the same golf course all seven times it was played. That course was Wilmslow Golf Club in the Manchester suburb of Wilmslow, Cheshire, England.

Popular posts from this blog